May 21, 2002 - by
Seminoles Open as the Top Seed in 2002 ACC Tournament

May 21, 2002

Complete ACC Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ACC Player Profiles in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

#1 FLORIDA STATE (51-12, 18-6 ACC)

The Seminoles, who have swept their last six weekend series (Miami, Georgia Tech, NC State, Duke, Maryland & Clemson) and won 17 consecutive games, moved up to No. 1 in this week’s Baseball Weekly/ESPN Coaches Poll. The Seminoles open as the top seed in the ACC Tournament for the second straight year and are led by senior third baseman Ryan Barthelemy (.370, 16 HR, 84 RBI) and junior left-hander Matt Lynch (12-1, 3.25 ERA). Barthelemy enters the ACC Tournament on a 13-game hitting streak. Junior right-hander Robby Read (7-1, 5.06 ERA) will start on the mound Wednesday against the winner of the Duke-Maryland game. Lynch will start the second game, followed by senior right-hander Blair Varnes (7-3, 4.16 ERA) if FSU advances to a third game. Sophomore catcher Tony Richie (.335, 11 HR, 62 RBI) was named Louisville Slugger National Player of the Week after belting four homers at Clemson. Richie went 9-for-14 in the sweep, knocked in eight runs and scored seven. He also picked off a runner and did not allow a stolen base.


Florida State went 3-2 in last year’s ACC Tournament, held at Knights Stadium in Fort Mill, SC. The top-seeded Seminoles opened with an 11-5 win over NC State, but fell to Georgia Tech 6-5 in the second game. FSU picked up wins over Clemson (5-4) and eventual champ Wake Forest (15-2) before being eliminated by NC State in an 8-4 contest. The Seminoles have earned the No. 1 seed as the regular season champs in four of the last five years. FSU’s last ACC Tournament championship came in 1997, the last time it was held in St. Petersburg. Florida State has been the No. 1 seed six times since joining the ACC in 1992 and owns a 23-9 record as the top seed. FSU is 35-17 all-time in the ACC Tournament with two titles.


All Florida State games at the ACC Tournament will be carried live by WFLA News Radio 1270 (FSU’s flagship station) in Tallahassee. Lee Bowen will begin coverage 15 minutes prior to game time. Live stats can be followed via the internet at or The ACC Championship game will be televised by Fox Sports and Sunshine Network.


1B Jerrod Brown (.331, 4 HR, 42 RBI)

2B Bryan Zech (.332, 2 HR, 36 RBI)

SS Stephen Drew (.379, 11 HR, 43 RBI)

3B Ryan Barthelemy (.372, 16 HR, 84 RBI)

C Tony Richie (.335, 11 HR, 62 RBI)

LF Tony McQuade (.383, 6 HR, 40 RBI)

CF Richie Smith (.269, 6 HR, 28 RBI)

RF Mike Futrell (.272, 6 HR, 21 RBI)

DH Blair McCaleb (.282, 6 HR, 42 RBI)

Starting Pitchers

Wed. RHP Robby Read (7-1, 5.06 ERA, 73 K)

Thurs. LHP Matt Lynch (12-1, 3.25 ERA, 78 K)

Related Articles