February 23, 2007 - by
Seminoles Send Nine Swimmers to Finals at Day Three of Men’s ACC Swimming Championships

Feb. 23, 2007

Chapel Hill, N.C. –

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

In Friday’s night session, the Seminoles look to defend their 52 point lead over Virginia. Sixteen Seminoles will swim the night session with 13 swimming in points awarding events. Florida State will also swim as the two seed in tonight’s 400-yard medley relay.

Junior Jarryd Botha (Worchester, South Africa) claimed the top seed in the 100-yard backstroke with an NCAA “B” cut time of 48.48. Junior Ian Powell (Guernsey, Channel Islands) will swim the final as he squeezed into the eighth seed with a time of 49.55. Freshman Robert Padgett (Greensboro, N.C.) claimed the 12th seed in the consolation final with a time of 50.01.

Junior Billy Jamerson (Savannah, Ga.) claimed the second seed in the 100-yard breaststroke final with an NCAA “B” cut time of 54.42. Freshman Scott Thacker(Lynchburg, Fla.) will swim the final from the fourth seed with a preliminary time of 55.58. Senior Paul Erben (Panama City, Fla.) will be the Seminoles third representative in the final with his time of 55.67 that claims the fifth seed. Freshman Corey Swanson (Tampa, Fla.) will swim the consolation final in the 11th seed with a time of 56.65

In the 200-yard freestyle, junior Kyle Young (Oviedo, Fla.) will swim the championship final as he is the fifth seed after turning in an NCAA “B” cut time of 1:37.74. Senior Alex Kennon (Winter Haven, Fla.) touched the wall in a time of 1:38.08 to claim the seventh seed in the final. Junior Ed Denton (Maidenhead, England) will swim out of the 12th seed in the consolation final with a time of 1:39.36.

In the 400-yard individual medley, senior Steve Roof (Canton, Ohio) claimed the sixth seed and a trip to the finals with a time of 3:55.08. Freshman Shawn Erickson (Tallahassee, Fla.) qualified for the bonus consolation final in the 20th seed with a time of 4:02.84. Freshman Nick Graves (Lexington, Ky.) will join Erickson in the bonus consolation final as he claims the 22nd seed in a time of 4:05.87.

Powell touched the wall in 48.88 to take the seventh seed in the 100-yard butterfly final; it is the first of the two finals he will swim in the eventing session. Junior Michael Rice (North Miami, Fla.) qualified 15th and will swim in the consolation final after turning in a time of 49.37. Senior Mark Nicholls (Charlotte, N.C.) claimed the 25th seed in a time of 50.16. He is the first alternate for the bonus consolation final.

Day three finals begin at 7:00 at the Koury Natatorium. The 400-yard individual medley will begin the evening which will be followed by the 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke and 100-yard backstroke. The session will conclude with the 400-yard medley relay. If you can’t make it to the meet, you can watch all the ACCtion on ACC Select video streaming service. Log onto www.accselect.com for more details.

Related Articles