May 9, 2003 - by
Seminoles Swimming & Diving Hand Out Post-Season Awards

May 9, 2003

Head coach Neil Harper handed out his annual post season awards to his men’s and women’s swimming and diving team in recognition of the many individual accomplishments achieved this past season both in and out of the pool. In 2003, the Seminoles finished second at the men’s ACC meet and third at the women’s ACC meet, while both teams earned double-digit wins in consecutive seasons for the first time in school history. In addition, Harper saw 14 of his swimmers and divers earn ACC titles and 18 athletes earn All-ACC first team honors to go along with an impressive six NCAA honorable mention All-Americans. Success was not limited to the pool, as the men and women combined to earn a 3.15 GPA in 2002-03.

The following is the list of awards Harper and his staff handed out for the 2002-03 season:

Captains Awards (Women): Betsy Nagy, Margaret Colley and Chelsie Lerew

Captains Awards (Men): Justin Betts and Sam Hood

Most Improved (Women): Loren Hansen, Emily Breen and Margaret Colley

Most Improved (Men): Michael Averett and Brent Campbell

MVP Diving (Women): Tiffany Manning

MVP Diving (Men): Louie Gagnet

MVP Swimming (Women): Emma Dutton

MVP Swimming (Men): Justin Betts

Coaches Award (Women): Margaret Colley

Coaches Award (Men): Sam Hood

ACC Champions (Women): 7; Chelsie Lerew – one- and three-meter, Emma Dutton – 100-breast, Andree-Anne Leroy – 200-IM, 200-free Relay (Jennie Lyes, Elizabeth Parkinson, Emily Breen and Dutton), 400-free Relay (Lyes, Breen, Loren Hansen and Dutton)

ACC Champions (Men): 7; Louie Gagnet one- and three-meter, Justin Betts 100-breast, 200-free Relay (Nnamnse Ammons, Michael Paulus, Matt Carmen and Joey Marshburn), 200-medley Relay (Devin Crock, Betts, Marshburn and Ammons)

Honorable Mention All-Americans (Women): 5; Jennie Lyes, Loren Hansen, Emily Breen, Emma Dutton (200 free relay), Tiffany Manning Platform Diving

Honorable Mention All-Americans (Men): Louie Gagnet (3m Diving)

All-ACC First Team (Women): 9; Chelsie Lerew, Emma Dutton, Andree-Anne Leroy, Jennie Lyes, Liz Parkinson, Emily Breen, Loren Hansen, Tiffany Manning, Courtney McClow

All-ACC First Team (Men): 9; Louie Gagnet, Justin Betts, Nnamnse Ammons, Mike Paulus, Matt Carmen, Joey Marshburn, Devin Crock, Joel Roycik, Wickus Nienaber

Related Articles