August 27, 2010 - by
Seminoles To World Championship

Aug. 27, 2010

After topping off the 2010 season with one best national finishes in the history of the program, Florida State’s Maria Salinas (Peru) and Macarena Silva (Chile) will represent Florida State and their countries in the 2010 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship. The Argentine Golf Association will host the biannual competition that is set to take place at the Olivos Buenos Aires Golf Clubs in Argentina October 20-23, 2010.

Silva, Florida State’s leading golfer of the 2009-2010 season, represented Chile in the 2008 championship. The trio helped Chile to a 34th place finish with Silva finishing as the teams top ranked golfer. Florida State’s most experienced player averaged 76.75 strokes in the four rounds of play. After making her mark internationally, the All-ACC honoree pushed the Seminoles to a 10th place finish in the 2010 NCAA Championship – the highest finish in Florida State’s history – and curtailed the year with a career-low 74.00 stroke average.

After partnering alongside Silva in last year’s success, Salinas won a ticket of her own to Argentina, solidifying Peru’s first appearance in the global tournament since 2004. During the 2010 NCAA Championship, Silva finished 20th, marking Florida State’s second best individual finish in the NCAA Championship. Former four-time All-American Catherine Westrup is the only player ranked above Salinas and finished tied for 11th in 2007. Westrup won the individual world championship as a representative of Sweden in 2006 and also took home the sixth lowest score in the tournament’s history (72-73-66-69).

“It’s an honor to be given the opportunity to represent my home country in the World Championship,” said Salinas. “I am excited to play with my teammates, for the flag and people of my country and in a great, great event. It is going to be a very exciting time for me and Maca, and I am looking forward to the competition.”

Following Westrup’s 2006 performance, Sweden took custody of the Espirito Santo Trophy in the 2008 Championship after finishing second to South Africa in the previous biennium. Anna Nordqvist and Caroline Hedwall led the Swedes to 19-under-par 561 finish, three strokes off the lowest score in championship history set by the United States in 1998 (558).

Silva and Salinas will kick off the first round of the 2010 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship on Wednesday, October 20th at the Olivos and the Buenos Aires Golf Clubs. The 2012 championship will be played in Antalya, Turkey.

Related Articles