September 18, 2002 - by
Seven Lady Seminoles Named to ACC 50th Anniversary Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Teams

Sept. 18, 2002

The Atlantic Coast Conference and commissioner John Swofford announced the 50th Anniversary Women’s Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field teams Wednesday, as voted on by the nine league institutions and decided by the league’s 50th Anniversary Committee. The teams consist of 51 members, seven of which are from Florida State. Tonya Carter and Samantha George are the only Seminoles to be named to both squads.

Tonya Carter (1997-2000) was the 2000 indoor NCAA National Champion in the 60m dash. She was a two-time All-American in the 60m dash in 1999 and 2000. In addition, she was awarded All-America honors in 2000 in the outdoor 100m dash. That win, along with winning the 200m dash, led FSU to its first ACC title. She holds the ACC meet record in the 100m dash with a time of 11.31.

Samantha George (1997-2000) was a 2000 indoor All-American in the 400m dash and a two time ACC Champion in 1999 and 2000 in the outdoor 400m. She earned an All-America title for her sixth-place finish in the outdoor 400m dash in 1999. Represented Canada at the 2000 Atlanta Olympics in the 400m hurdles and dash. She was a 1999 and 2000 All-ACC honoree.

Sheryl Covington (1991-1994) earned All-America honors in 1993 for the indoor 55m and 200m dashes. She was a 1993 ACC Champion in the 55m, which she repeated in 1994. That same year she was also awarded ACC Champion honors in the 200m dash.

Sophia Danvers (1994-1997) was a three-time All-American in the 4×400 and received All-America honors once in the 4×100. She was the 1997 ACC Champion in the 400m dash and two-time ACC Champion in 1996 and 1997 in the 4×400. Furthermore, she was a four-time All-America honoree and four0time All-ACC honoree.

Laura Gerber (1999-2001) was the 1999 ACC Champion for the indoor 800m run. She was named a 2001 All-American in that same event. A two time All-ACC member in 1999 and 2001, she was also a member of the NCAA runner-up 4×400 relay team.

Trinette Johnson (1990-1993) was a three-time All-American in outdoor track and field, earning these honors in the long jump in 1992 and 1993 and in the 4×400 relay in 1992. She was named ACC Champion in the long jump twice in 1992 and 1993 as well as holding the ACC Meet record in the long jump with a distance of 21-0.5.

Erica Shepard (1994-1997) named All-American in indoor 800m run in 1996. Twice earned All-American honors in 1996 and 1997 in the 4×400. She was the ACC Champion in the 800m two years straight beginning in 1996.

For more information on the ACC 50th Anniversary teams, log on to

Related Articles