February 24, 2011 - by
Seven Noles Honored By The ACC

Feb. 24, 2011

By Zach Mendelson, Seminoles.com

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference and Commissioner John D. Swofford announced Thursday, February 24, the honorees for this year’s All-ACC Women’s Soccer Academic Team. Florida State set a school record by placing seven student-athletes on this year’s All ACC Academic squad as Janice Cayman, Amanda DaCosta, Tori Huster, Ines Jaurena, Kassey Kallman, Casey Short and Kelsey Wys were all recognized.

“I think we take a lot of pride in having exceptional student-athletes here at Florida State,” said head coach Mark Krikorian. “I am thrilled that these young women have been recognized for their quality in both in the classroom and on the soccer field. I think our group continues to shine in that regard and we are quite pleased with it.”

Previously the ACC honored six Florida State student-athletes on the Academic Team back in both 2007 and 2009. Since the award’s inception in 2005, the league has recognized 30 players from Florida State.

“I think our kids know that when we are recruiting them that their academic well-being, physical well-being and soccer development are all keys for us in helping develop them as people,” said Krikorian. “I think the evidence is pretty clear that our kids are doing exceptional work in the classroom, in the community and on the soccer field. I am quite pleased in the direction we continue to go and I am proud we can represent Florida State and Florida State athletics as well as we do.”

Huster is making an appearance on the All-Academic Team for the second time in her college career. She was also named to the CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic District III team this past year.

All 11 league schools that compete in women’s soccer are represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team, which includes two student-athletes that earned 2010 All-America honors. The All-ACC Academic Team also includes 12 players that were named first- or second-team All-ACC. Three were named Academic All-America by CoSIDA/ESPN, and 10 earned All-District Academic honors.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Florida State set a school record with seven players on the All-ACC athletic team in 2010, the most in the conference. Florida State also led all schools, along with Duke, with seven academic selections a piece, the second year in a row that both schools had the most honorees. Boston College and Wake Forest followed with five honorees. Virginia and Maryland placed four student-athletes on this year’s team, while Miami, North Carolina, NC State and Virginia each earned three selections and with one player Clemson rounded out the 45-member squad.

Maryland’s Caitlin McDowell was the recipient of the 2010 ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Related Articles