May 18, 2006 - by
Shane Robinson Named A Semifinalist For The Dick Howser Trophy

May 18, 2006

Columbus, OH – For the second straight season FSU outfielder Shane Robinson was named a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy. The Tampa, FL native is the only player to be named a semifinalist for the top college honor in 2005 and 2006. Robinson is one of 16 semifinalists announced today by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Robinson is the defending Collegiate Baseball National Player of the Year and is also a nominee for the Brook Wallace Award. He is currently seventh in the NCAA in runs scored and posted a 26-game hitting streak earlier this season. The junior is third all-time at FSU for career steals and he has a hit in 44 of FSU’s 53 games this year. He recently saw his streak of reaching base safely come to an end at 50 games. Over the last two seasons Robinson has reached base in 142 of his last 147 games.

The centerfielder is second in the ACC in steals and third in runs scored. He is also in the top 10 for hits. In conference games, Robinson is fifth in hits, second in steals and seventh in runs scored.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball’s most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser’s life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner’s name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg – home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four – along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 107th year of existence in 2006. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay-St. Petersburg area and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport’s only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser’s death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; and Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005.


Pos. Name, School 1B Andy D'Alessio, Clemson 3B Ronnie Bourquin, Ohio State SP Eddie Degerman, Rice OF Luke Gorsett, Nebraska SS Tom King, Troy OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison SP Tim Lincecum, Washington SP-DH/ATH Brad Lincoln, Houston C Michael McKenry, Middle Tennessee SP Andrew Miller, North Carolina 2B Jim Negrych, Pittsburgh OF Shane Robinson, Florida State SP Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton 1B Ryan Strieby, Kentucky DH/ATH Damon Sublett, Wichita State 3B Zach Daeges, Creighton

Related Articles