April 26, 2013 - by
Sitz Named To National Pitcher Of The Year Watch List

April 26, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Scott Sitz is one of 41 players recognized as the nation’s top pitchers landing a spot on the National Pitcher of the Year watch list as announced by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Sitz enters the 11th week of the season with a 7-1 record and 1.60 ERA in 10 starts. The senior right hander currently leads the team in wins and innings pitched (56.1), while holding the lowest ERA on the team among starting pitchers. His ERA also ranks as the third lowest in the ACC.

The Jacksonville Beach, Fla., native tossed a career-high 8.0 shutout innings in a win over USF and then matched that mark with eight strong innings in a win at Miami. In his third start of the season, Sitz tied a career-high with nine strikeouts against Villanova.

Sitz put together a consecutive scoreless innings streak of 22.0 innings that started a year ago against UCLA at the College World Series and lasted through the third inning of his fourth start in 2013. He has allowed more than one earned run just twice this year while limiting opponents to zero earned runs five times.

The initial watch list for the 2013 Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond Sports, will be presented during the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions on June 29.

2013 Pitcher of the Year Watch List:
Scott Sitz, Florida State, ACC
Buck Farmer, Georgia Tech, ACC
Kent Emanuel, North Carolina, ACC
Trent Thornton, North Carolina, ACC
Stephen Janas, Kennesaw State, Atlantic Sun
Jonathan Gray, Oklahoma, Big 12
Vince Wheeland, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Trey Masek, Texas Tech, Big 12
Jeff Thompson, Louisville, Big East
Adam Norton, Notre Dame, Big East
Scott Effross, Indiana, Big Ten
Tom Windle, Minnesota, Big Ten
Thomas Eshelman, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Andrew Morales, UC Irvine, Big West
John Farrell, William & Mary, Colonial
Austin Kubitza, Rice, Conference USA
Zech Lemond, Rice, Conference USA
Ben Lively, Central Florida, Conference USA
Scott Baker, Ball State, MAC
Jordan Foley, Central Michigan, MAC
Kyle McGowin, Savannah State, MEAC
Sean Manaea, Indiana State, Missouri Valley
Nick Petree, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Tyler Rogers, Austin Peay, Ohio Valley
Josh Davis, Belmont, Ohio Valley
Ryan Kellogg, Arizona State, Pac-12
Jimmie Sherfy, Oregon, Pac-12
Matt Boyd, Oregon State, Pac-12
Andrew Moore, Oregon State, Pac-12
Mark Appel, Stanford, Pac-12
Chris Cotton, LSU, SEC
Ryan Eades, LSU, SEC
Aaron Nola, LSU, SEC
Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State, SEC
Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss, SEC
Tyler Webb, South Carolina, SEC
Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt, SEC
Brian Miller, Vanderbilt, SEC
Kevin Ziomek, Vanderbilt, SEC
Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield,WAC


Related Articles