December 3, 2014 - by
Six Earn All-ACC

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – ( The eighth-ranked Florida State indoor volleyball team led the Atlantic Coast Conference with six players selected to All-ACC Teams as the rosters were announced by the league on Tuesday.

Redshirt senior libero Katie Mosher, junior outside hitter Nicole Walch and redshirt sophomore middle blocker Sarah Burrington captured First Team honors, while junior middle blocker Kiara Wright and sophomore outside hitter Katie Horton earned Second-Team accolades.

Freshman right side hitter Milica Kubura was named to the All-Freshman Team.

“We have had an amazing year and it is an honor for our program to have six different players represented on the All-ACC team,” FSU head coach Chris Poole said. “Quite honestly, we had 10 players that played a majority of our matches and they all deserved to be recognized. There is a lot of great talent in this league. There are a lot of great coaches and I only see the ACC getting stronger and stronger in the future.”

Mosher and Walch earned their second nods, while Burrington, Horton, Kubura and Wright picked up their first.

Walch leads the Seminoles and ranks third in the ACC in kills with 437, averaging 3.90 per set. The Stuart, Fla. native also bolsters the defense with 279 digs this season while contributing 14 double-doubles.

As the FSU all-time digs leader, Mosher has amassed 479 digs in 2014, averaging 4.20 per set.

Florida State is one of the better blocking teams in the league, ranking second with a 2.92 average per set. Burrington leads the Seminoles with 164 total blocks (1.44 per set) while Wright has tallied 139 total including 21 solo (1.22 per set). Wright has also put up the best blocking performance in the ACC this season with 12 total blocks at Pitt on Oct. 24.

Horton sits behind Walch on the attack, contributing 295 kills (2.68 per set) and 243 digs. The Westland, Mich. native has also registered six double-doubles on the year.

Kubura earns All-Freshman Team honors behind 168 kills and 58 total blocks over the course of 84 sets played.

“Our success was a total team effort this season,” Poole said. “Every player that was eligible to play this season made a contribution to our success. It was a total team effort. This team had amazing chemistry on and off the court. I am excited about the future of the program and we are going to give our best effort to make it back to another Final Four this season.”

Florida State opens the NCAA Tournament in Tully Gym on Thursday at 7 p.m. against Jacksonville. The Seminoles are the No. 6 national seed in the tournament.
For more information about FSU Volleyball and the NCAA Tournament, visit Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Mosher Senior Class

Redshirt senior Katie Mosher was named a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award. Fans can vote once per day until Dec. 8 at 6 p.m. The winner will be chosen at the Final Four in December. She currently holds the third highest tally of votes behind Liz McMahon from Illinois and Chaniel Nelson of North Carolina.

2014 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Savanah Leaf, Sr., OH, Miami
Defensive Player of the Year: Ece Taner, Sr., L, North Carolina
Setter of the Year: Kelsey Williams, Sr., S, Duke
Freshman of the Year: Haley Templeton, Fr., S, Miami
Coach of the Year: Joe Sagula, North Carolina

2014 All-ACC Volleyball First Team
Jeme Obeime ! Sr. OH Duke
Emily Sklar ! Sr. OH Duke
Kelsey Williams Sr. S Duke
Sarah Burrington So. MB Florida State
Katie Mosher ! Sr. L Florida State
Nicole Walch ! Jr. OH Florida State
Katie George Jr. S Louisville
Janelle Jenkins So. OH Louisville
Savanah Leaf ! Sr. OH Miami
Emani Sims # Sr. MB Miami
Chaniel Nelson # Sr. OPP North Carolina
Paige Neuenfeldt ! Jr. MB North Carolina
Ece Taner Sr. L North Carolina
Amanda Orchard Jr. MH Pitt
Kathryn Caine ! Sr. MB Virginia Tech
Lindsey Owens So. OH Virginia Tech

2014 All-ACC Volleyball Second Team
Karis Watson Sr. MB Clemson
Sasha Karelov So. L Duke
Jordan Tucker So. MB Duke
Katie Horton So. OH Florida State
Kiara Wright Jr. MH Florida State
Tess Clark Fr. MB Louisville
Haley Templeton Fr. S Miami
Victoria McPherson ! Jr. MB North Carolina
Delaney Clesen Sr. L Pitt
Kate Yeazel Sr. RS Pitt
Silvi Uattara So. OH Syracuse
Jasmine Burton ! So. OPP Virginia
Lauren Fuller ! Jr. S Virginia
Jazmen Russell Sr. OH Wake Forest

2014 All-ACC Freshman Team
Kate Federico S Clemson
Milica Kubura RS Florida State
Tess Clark MB Louisville
Maggie Dejong MB Louisville
Haley Templeton S Miami
Kaitlyn Kearney MB NC State
Sam Fry MB Notre Dame
Kylie Long OH Wake Forest
Caroline Wolf L Wake Forest

! – Two-time selection
# – Three-time selection

Related Articles