May 24, 2007 - by
Slater, Walter Set To Compete In NCAA Doubles Championships Against VCU

May 24, 2007

Tallahassee, FL – No. 16 Nicola Slater and Carolin Walter of the Florida State women’s tennis team is set to compete Thursday, May 24, at 2 p.m. in the first round of the NCAA Doubles Championship. The duo is set to face Virginia Commonwealth’s No. 14 Olga Borisova and Marianna Yuferova.

The NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Subcommittee selected the 32 doubles teams to compete in the 2007 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships. Doubles competition will be conducted May 23-28 at Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia.

This is the first time since 2005 that a doubles team has been invited to the doubles championship.

This season, Slater, a senior from Ayr, Scotland, and Walter, a junior from Bingen, Germany, posted a record of 13-5. The duo had six wins over ranked opponents including No. 10 Daniela Bercek/Melissa Mang (DU), No. 19 Riza Zalameda/Yasmin Schnack (UCLA), No. 23 Audrey Banada/Romy Farah (UM), No. 25 Ani Mijacika/Carol Salge (CU), No. 27 Alexandra Hirsch/Ashlee Davis (WF), and No. 30 Megan Falcon/Hannah Robinson (LSU).

The selection of teams and individuals for the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships is based on the prescribed criteria listed in the championships handbook and approved by the Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet.

Automatic qualification into the Division I doubles championships is awarded to any conference with one or more doubles teams ranked in the ITA Top 60 for doubles. For conferences with more than one doubles team within the ITA Top 60, the subcommittee will apply the NCAA selection criteria to determine which doubles team is the automatic qualifier from those conferences. To find out more information on the selection process, please visit

Related Articles