December 16, 2008 - by
Soccer America Recognizes Four Seminole Student-Athletes

Dec. 16, 2008

OAKLAND, Calif. – Four Florida State student-athletes were honored for their efforts this year as Soccer America announced its postseason awards for the 2008 women’s college season on Tuesday, December 16. The quartet of Seminoles include sophomores Sanna Talonen and Amanda DaCosta and freshmen Tiffany McCarty and Casey Short.

Talonen earned first team MVP honors in 2008, a year removed from being named Soccer America Freshman of the Year. The Finnish native had a stellar sophomore season as she finished the year as the team leader in points (36), goals (16) and game-winning goals (6) en route to earning first team All-ACC accolades. At one point during the year, Talonen registered a goal in six straight games. She wrecked havoc away from home in just two seasons notching 32 career points on the road. Eleven of her 16 goals in 2008 came away from home. On the career charts, Talonen sits first all-time at Florida State in game-winning goals (12) and multi-goal games (9). She also set the single-season record for points and goals in ACC play at FSU this year with 19 and nine, respectively. Talonen was also named a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy while being named a second team All-American by the NSCAA this year.

DaCosta added second team MVP honors to her list of accolades in 2008. The sophomore midfielder already claimed first team All-America honors from the NSCAA. Earlier this year, the Katonah, N.Y. native earned first team All-ACC accolades as she was the only Seminole to repeat as an all-conference honoree from 2007. She finished the season fifth in points on four goals and six assists. DaCosta played an integral role in the Seminole offensive production this year as she was involved in six game-winning situations earning two game-winning goals and a team-high four game-winning assists. DaCosta has started every match at Florida State since arriving in Tallahassee in 2007, a span of 50 straight games.

McCarty and Short earned Freshman All-American recognition by Soccer America being named to the first team and second team, respectively.

McCarty wrapped up her freshman season leading the team in shots (73) while ranking second in points (28) and goals (11). She set the freshman individual season record at Florida State for shots, while finishing third in points and goals. The Laurel, Md., native led all freshmen in the ACC in points, goals and assists en route to becoming the first Seminole in school history to receive ACC Freshman of the Year honors.

Short recorded 10 points on two goals and six assists to cap off a successful first season at Florida State. The freshman midfielder started 18 games and was one of three first-year Seminoles to play in all 23 games in 2008. She finished tied for second on the team with three game-winning assists and closed out the regular season with assists in four of her last six games. With five assists against ACC foes, Short tied the single-season school record for assists in league play.

2008 Soccer America MVPs
First Team
Name, Class, School
Alyssa Naeher, Jr., Penn State
Marisa Abegg, Sr., Stanford
Lauren Cheney, Jr., UCLA
Carrie Dew, Sr., Notre Dame
Christina DiMartino, Sr., UCLA
Kerri Hanks, Sr., Notre Dame
Nikki Krzysik, Sr., Virginia
Casey Nogueira, Jr., North Carolina
Yolando Odenyo, Sr., Oklahoma State
Megan Rapinoe, Sr., Portland
Sanna Talonen, So., Florida State

Second Team
Erin Guthrie, Jr., Rutgers
Ameera Abdullah, Sr., Florida
Yael Averbuch, Sr., North Carolina
Greer Barnes, Sr., West Virginia
Hailey Beam, Jr., Charlotte
Amanda DaCosta, So., Florida State
Tobin Heath, Jr., North Carolina
Corky Julien, Jr., James Madison
Nikki Marshall, Jr., Colorado
Kasey Moore, Sr., Texas
Elisabeth Redmond, Jr., Duke

2008 Soccer America Freshmen All-Americans
First Team
Name, School
Jillian Mastroianni, Boston College
Danielle Foxhoven, Portland
Sarah Hagen, Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame
Laura Heyboer, Michigan State
Courtney Jones, North Carolina
Camille Levin, Stanford
Tiffany McCarty, Florida State
Teresa Noyola, Stanford
Lindsay Taylor, Stanford
Bri Young, Texas A&M

Second Team
Aline Reis, UCF
Lauren Alwine, Virginia
Melanie Baskind, Harvard
Julia Bouchelle, Boston College
Emily Cressy, Kansas
Kelly D’Ambrisi, Georgetown
Katy Frierson, Auburn
Sydney Leroux, UCLA
Ashley Rape, Duke
Casey Short, Florida State
Tamara Strahota, Minnesota

Related Articles