November 3, 2016 - by
Soccer Places Eight On 2016 All-ACC Teams

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – As the Seminoles prepare for the semifinals of the 2016 ACC Women’s Soccer Championship this weekend, the Florida State soccer program earned numerous individual accolades on Thursday as the Atlantic Coast Conference announced its end of the season awards, as voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches. Florida State led the conference with nine overall accolades, given to eight different players, as six Seminoles earned a spot one of the three All-ACC Teams (Kirsten Crowley, Deyna Castellanos, Megan Connolly, Natalia Kuikka, Cassie Miller and Emma Koivisto),

as well as three freshman selected to the All-Freshman team (Malia Berkely, Deyna Castellanos and Kristen McFarland). Notre Dame and Virginia tied for the second-most conference recognitions with six apiece.

Crowley received All-ACC First Team honors for the first time in her career as the redshirt senior captain has helped the Seminole defense rank fifth in the country in both goals against average (0.376) and shutout percentage (.667). It is the second All-ACC award of Crowley’s career, as she placed on the All-ACC Second Team in 2015.

A league-high four Seminoles earned All-ACC Second Team honors, beginning with Castellanos, a freshman forward that leads the team with six goals, despite playing only nine games this season after playing for Venezuela in the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. She has been a catalyst to the FSU offense as four of her six goals have been the first FSU goal scored of the game.

She is joined by Connolly, a sophomore who leads the Seminoles in points this season with 14 on five goals and four assists, building on a freshman campaign that saw her earn 2015 All-ACC First Team as well as Midfielder and Freshman of the Year honors.

Kuikka and Miller round out the FSU All-ACC Second Team selections as the duo, along with Crowley, have anchored the center of the FSU defense this season. Kuikka is physically competitive and can shut opposing offenses down with her positioning and tactics, while helping create counterattack opportunities. She has two assists on the season, aiding on the game-winners at Pitt and against No. 4 Duke. Kuikka was named to the 2015 ACC All-Freshman Team and received ACC Tournament MVP honors last season.


Soccer Places Eight On 2016 All-ACC Teams

Miller has stood strong as the FSU goalkeeper, allowing just seven goals on the season as the Seminoles are tied for third in the nation for fewest goals allowed. Individually, Miller ranks in the top 15 in the NCAA in three different categories – goals against average (0.381 – eighth), shutouts (10 – eighth) and save percentage (0.873 – 12th). It is the third consecutive season that Miller has earned All-ACC Second Team honors.

Koivisto marks the final FSU All-ACC member, placing on the All-ACC Third Team for the second year in a row, after being named to the ACC All-Freshman Team in 2014. A solid defender on the wing, Koivisto can also join the attack and help facilitate scoring opportunities. She has two assists on the year, including the game-winning goal at No. 8 Texas A&M.

Castellanos joins fellow newcomers Berkely and McFarland on the 2016 ACC All-Freshman Team. Berkely has played in both the midfield and defensive backline this season, earning a start in all 18 games, and assisted on the game-winning goal against Wake Forest.

McFarland has shown her quality as a forward, ranking second on the team with 13 points on five goals and three assists. Coming off the bench early in the season, she would often make an immediate impact, scoring a goal just 2:47 after subbing into the match at Middle Tennessee and taking just 3:14 against Mercer to find the back of the net.

The nine total accolades for Florida State ranks second all-time in school history, trailing the 11 honors (eight All-ACC and three All-Freshman) received in 2015.

The Seminoles continue the 2016 ACC Women’s Soccer Championship on Friday, November 4 at MUSC Health Stadium in Charleston, S.C., taking on No. 9 Clemson in a semifinal match at 8:00 p.m. The game will be broadcast on ACC Network Extra and live stats will be available on

Follow Florida State soccer on Twitter (@FSU_Soccer), Instagram (@nolesoccer) and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole soccer.

2016 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team and Individual Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year:
Alexis Shaffer, Sr., M, Virginia
Defensive Player of the Year: Christina Gibbons, Sr., D, Duke
Midfielder of the Year: Alexis Shaffer, Sr., M, Virginia
Freshman of the Year: Bridgette Andrzejewski, Fr., F, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: Eddie Radwanski, Clemson

All- ACC First Team
McKenzie Meehan, GS, F, Boston College
Catrina Atanda, Sr., M, Clemson
Kailen Sheridan, Sr., GK, Clemson
Christina Gibbons, Sr., D, Duke
Toni Payne, Sr., F, Duke
Kirsten Crowley, Sr., D, Florida State
Gracie Lachowecki, Sr., F, Miami
Bridgette Andrzejewski Fr., F, North Carolina
Kaleigh Olmsted, Sr., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Shaffer, Sr., M, Virginia
Murielle Tiernan, Sr., F, Virginia Tech

All-ACC Second Team
Hayley Dowd, Sr., F, Boston College
Sam Staab, So., D, Clemson
Imani Dorsey, Jr., F, Duke
Deyna Castellanos, Fr., F, Florida State
Megan Connolly, So, M, Florida State
Natalia Kuikka, So., D, Florida State
Cassie Miller, Jr., GK, Florida State
Megan Buckingham, Jr., M, North Carolina
Jennifer Westendorf, Fr., F, Notre Dame
Kristen McNabb , GS, D, Virginia
Sarah Teegarden, Sr., M, Wake Forest

All- ACC Third Team
Claire Wagner, Sr., D, Clemson
Ella Stevens, Fr., M, Duke
Emma Koivisto, Jr., D, Florida State
Gabrielle Vincent, So., M, Louisville
Tziarra King, Fr., M, NC State
Taylor Klawunder, Jr., M, Notre Dame
Kaela Little, Sr., GK, Notre Dame
Sandra Yu, Sr., M, Notre Dame
Alissa Gorzak, Fr., F, Virginia
Veronica Latsko, Jr., F, Virginia
Candace Cephers, Sr., M, Virginia Tech

All-Freshman Team
Ella Stevens, Fr., M, Duke
Malia Berkely, Fr., D, Florida State
Deyna Castellanos, Fr., F, Florida State
Kristen McFarland, Fr., F, Florida State
Kristina Fisher, Fr., M, Miami
Bridgette Andrzejewski, Fr., F, North Carolina
Tziarra King, Fr., M, NC State
Kia Rankin, Fr., F, NC State
Jennifer Westendorf, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Alissa Gorzak, Fr, F, Virginia
Zoe Morse, Fr., M, Virginia

Related Articles