August 1, 2019 - by
Soccer Places Four on MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Coming off a National Championship in 2018 and heading into the 2019 season, the Seminoles have four student-athletes receive national recognition. Senior Deyna Castellanos, redshirt junior Malia Berkely, sophomore Jaelin Howell and sophomore Yujie Zhao have all been select to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, as announced by the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday.

They are four of the 61 players selected this season and it is the third consecutive season that Castellanos has been named to the preseason watch list. Florida State is the only school in the country with more than three members on the list.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 10, 2020 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

For more information about the MAC Hermann Trophy, including a list of past winners, visit

Follow Florida State soccer on Twitter (@FSUSoccer), Instagram (@nolesoccer) and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole soccer.

2019 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Amirah Ali, Jr., F, Rutgers
Haley Berg, Jr., M, Texas
Malia Berkely, Jr., D, Florida State
Deyna Castellanos, Sr., F, Florida State
Samantha Coffey, Jr., M, Penn State
Kaylie Collins, Jr., K, USC
Mikayla Colohan, Jr., M, BYU
Mara Cosentino, Sr., M, Colgate
Katie Cousins, Sr., M, Tennessee
Haley Crawford, Sr., F, James Madison
Kaylee Davis, Sr., F, Texas State
Savannah DeMelo, Jr., M, USC
Olivia Doak, Sr., F, Lipscomb
Serena Dolan, Sr., M, Memphis
Emina Ekic, Jr., M, Louisville
Grace Fisk, Sr., D, South Carolina
Elise Flake, Sr., F, BYU
Jessie Fleming, Sr., M, UCLA
Bri Folds, Sr., M, Auburn
Rylee Foster, Sr., K, West Virginia
Paula Germino-Watnick, Sr., F, Georgetown
Madie Gibson, Sr., F, Monmouth,
Andrea Hauksdottir, Sr., M, USF
Kelcie Hedge, Sr., M, Santa Clara
Anna Heilferty, Jr., F, Boston University
Cyera Hintzen, Sr., F, Texas
Haley Hopkins, So., F, Vanderbilt
Jaelin Howell, So., M, Florida State
Laurel Ivory, Jr., K, Virginia
Dominique James, Sr., D, North Texas
Alli Klug, Sr., D, Saint Louis
Taylor Kornieck, Sr., M, Colorado
Clarissa Larisey, Jr., F, Memphis
Alexis Loera, Jr., D, Santa Clara
Catarina Macario, Jr., F, Stanford
Sandy MacIver, Sr., K, Clemson
Lianne Mananquil, Sr., M, Rice
Phoebe McClernon, Sr., D, Virginia
Sinclaire Miramontez, Sr., D, Nebraska
Meagan Nally, Sr., D, Georgetown
Maya Neal, Sr., D, Tennessee
Taylor Otto, Jr., F, North Carolina
Lucy Parker, Jr., D, UCLA
Victoria Pickett, Sr., M, Wisconsin
Brianna Pinto, So., M, North Carolina
Evdokia Popadinova, Sr., F, Florida Gulf Coast
Lucy Porter, Jr., M, Hofstra
Kaleigh Riehl, Sr., D, Penn State
Izzy Rodriquez, Jr., D, Ohio State
Alessia Russo, Jr., F, North Carolina
Yazmeen Ryan, Jr., M, TCU
Ashley Sanchez, Jr., F, UCLA
Raimee Sherle, Sr., F, Boise State
Sophia Smith, So., F, Stanford
Alexa Spaanstra, So., F, Virginia
Frankie Tagliaferri, Jr., F, Penn State
Haley VanFossen, Jr., D, Arkansas
Evelyne Viens, Sr., F, USF
Ally Watt, Sr., F, Texas A&M
Morgan Weaver, Sr., F, Washington State
Yujie Zhao, So., M, Florida State              

Related Articles