January 25, 1998 - by


Football Team Announces Award Winners

Annual banquet honors players, coaches.

Jan. 24, 1998

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The 1998 Seminole football team was honored at the
annual football banquet this evening at the Tallahassee-Leon County Civic

Receiving the Offensive MVP Awards were quarterback Thad Busby and wide
receiver E.G. Green. Busby set the school record for passing yards in a
season (3,317) while Green established an FSU mark for career receiving
touchdowns with 29. Andre Wadsworth was named the Defensive MVP after a
season in which he recorded 16 sacks and finished as the runner-up for the
Lombardi Award.

Senior captains Daryl Bush and Kevin Long were given the Offensive and
Defensive Leadership Awards, respectively. Bush was also named the top
conditioned athlete and received the senior academic award with a 3.97 GPA,
an honor he has received in each of his four years at FSU.

The complete list of awards reads:

Most Improved Player        OT Tra Thomas (Offense)
                            DT Larry Smith (Defense)
Leadership Award            C Kevin Long (Offense)
                            LB Daryl Bush (Defense)
Top Newcomer                RB Travis Minor (Offense)
                            CB Tay Cody (Defense)
Offensive MVP               QB Thad Busby, WR E.G. Green (Off.)
                            DE Andre Wadsworth (Defense)
Top Conditioned Athlete     LB Daryl Bush
Special Performance Award   LB Sam Cowart (Defense)
                            WR Peter Warrick (Offense)
Special Teams MVP           PK Sebastian Janikowski (Offense)
                            LB Tommy Polley (Defense)
Scout Team MVP              WR Derence Jones (Offense)
                            LB Ben Waldrop (Defense)
Academic Awards             LB Daryl Bush (SR - 3.97)
                            TE Myron Jackson (JR - 2.59)
                            QB Marcus Outzen (SO - 3.16)
                            QB Chris Weinke (FR - 3.16)
Academic Achievement        DE Chris Walker (3.26)
Bill McGrotha Spirit Award  DE Greg Spires
Coach Bowden Apprecition Award  Jimmie Callaway
                         (Head Equipment Manager)
Bob Crenshaw Award          S Shevin Smith
Don Powell Award            TE Melvin Pearsall