June 17, 2014 - by

Dixie Conference Championships

Dixie Conference affiliation (1949-51)

The 1949, 1950 and 1951 teams, coached by Florida State tennis pioneer, H. Don Loucks (1949-50) and Ralph Matherly (1951), won the Dixie Conference team championship for three consecutive years.

The Dixie Conference was made up of seven small schools within the Southeast, including Florida State, Stetson, Millsaps, Mercer, Howard, Lambuth and Ogelthorpe.

Florida State       -   Team Champion, 1949-51
Donald Seiffert     -   Class A Doubles Champion, 1949
Herbert Quay        -   Class B Singles Champion, 1949
                    -   Class A Doubles Champion, 1949
Robert Lanigan      -   Class C Singles Champion, 1949

Related Articles