May 27, 2014 - by
Stewart Honored As Semifinalist for Golden Spikes

May 27, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s DJ Stewart was named a semifinalist for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award as announced by USA Baseball on Tuesday, May 27. Stewart is one of 21 student-athletes from around the country honored as semifinalists for the 37th Golden Spikes Award, presented to the top amateur baseball player in the U.S. — powered by MLB Advanced Media — will once again be the online home for the award. The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and biographical information for the 2014 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at as the list of 21 players is narrowed to a group of finalists on Tuesday, June 3.

Stewart, who garnered All-ACC honors for the second year in a row, became the seventh Seminole in school history to garner Player of the Year accolades. He is the first Seminole to win the award since James Ramsey took home the individual honor in 2012. Stewart has also been named a semifinalist for the 2014 Dick Howser Trophy.

The sophomore outfielder finished the regular season ranked in the top 10 in the ACC in nine offensive categories while leading the league in average (.362), on-base percentage (.478) and slugging percentage (.588) and tied in RBI (47) and doubles (19).

Stewart finished league play hitting .388 with 11 doubles, four home runs and 30 RBI in 26 games. The Yulee, Fla., native sits second on the team in both multi-hit (19) and multi-RBI (12) games. He has recorded a career-high four hits three times in 2014. Stewart has reached base safely in 50 of the 51 games in which he has played this year.

USA Baseball officials will announce the list of finalists for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, June 3. To select the finalists, the list of semifinalists is sent to a voting body consisting of past Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2014. This announcement officially marks the opening of voting for amateur baseball fans from across the country on As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names. Voting will be open until Friday, May 30. Fans should click here to vote for DJ.

Last year, University of San Diego infielder, Kris Bryant, took home the prestigious award.

Florida State leads the nation all-time with four Golden Spikes Award winners: Mike Fuentes (1981), Mike Loynd (1986), J.D. Drew (1997) and Buster Posey (2008).

The complete 2014 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School
Aaron Brown, OF/LHP, Junior, Pepperdine
Michael Conforto, OF, Junior, Oregon State
Tyler Davis, RHP, Junior, Washington
Chris Ellis, RHP, Junior, Mississippi
Kyle Freeland, LHP, Junior, Evansville
Casey Gillaspie, IF, Junior, Wichita State
Daniel Gossett, RHP, Senior, Clemson
Matt Imhof, LHP, Junior, Cal Poly
Connor Joe, IF, Junior, San Diego
Michael Katz, IF, Junior, William & Mary
Nathan Kirby, LHP, Sophomore, Virginia
Jordan Luplow, OF, Junior, Fresno State
Andrew Morales, RHP, Senior, UC Irvine
Michael Murray, RHP, Sophomore, Florida Gulf Coast
Aaron Nola, RHP, Junior, Louisiana State
Max Pentecost, C, Junior, Kennesaw State
Josh Prevost, RHP, Senior, Seton Hall
A.J. Reed, LHP/IF, Junior, Kentucky
DJ Stewart, OF, Sophomore, Florida State
Sam Travis, IF, Junior, Indiana
Drew Weeks, OF/IF, Junior, North Florida


Related Articles