June 30, 2014 - by
Stewart Makes Final CNT USA 24-Man Roster

June 30, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s DJ Stewart will take part in international competition this summer with the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team as the squad finalized its 24-man roster on Monday, June 30.

The group of 24 features 12 pitchers and 12 hitters including Florida State’s rising sophomore outfielder. In seven starts with the Collegiate National Team, Stewart has hit .261 (6-for-23) with two doubles, one triple, eight runs scored and seven RBI. The Yulee, Fla., native is tied for the team lead with six walks and ranks third with a .452 on-base percentage. Stewart has also converted on all six of his fielding opportunities in left field.

The Collegiate National Team opens its series against Chinese Taipei at 7:05 p.m. on July 1 at the National Training Complex in Cary, N.C. The teams will play again on July 2 at Keeter Stadium in Shelby, N.C., on July 3 at BB&T Ballpark in Charlotte, N.C., and on July 4 and 5 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in Durham, N.C.

Team USA will then host a three-game set against Japan July 6-8 in Thomasville, Wilson and Wilmington, N.C., before traveling to the Netherlands for Honkbal-Haarlem Baseball Week, July 11-20. Following that tournament, the U.S. will head to Cuba for a five-game friendship series, July 23-27.

Stewart is the 18th Seminole to play for Team USA and the second in as many years joining Luke Weaver who played for the Collegiate National Team last summer.

Here is the final 24-man roster:

Nick Banks (OF, Texas A&M), Alex Bregman (INF, LSU), Ryan Burr (RHP, Arizona State), Zack Collins (C, Miami), Thomas Eshelman (RHP, Cal State Fullerton), Carson Fulmer (RHP, Vanderbilt), Kyle Funkhouser (RHP, Louisville), Justin Garza (RHP, Cal State Fullerton), Tyler Jay (LHP, Illinois), James Kaprielian (RHP, UCLA), Trey Killian (RHP, Arkansas), Jake Lemoine (RHP, Houston), Mark Mathias (IF, Cal Poly), Tate Matheny (OF, Missouri State), A.J. Minter (Texas A&M), Andrew Moore (RHP, Oregon State), Chris Okey (C, Clemson), Bryan Reynolds (OF, Vanderbilt), Dansby Swanson (IF, Vanderbilt), Christin Stewart (Tennessee), DJ Stewart (OF, Florida State), Dillon Tate (RHP, UCSB), Blake Trahan (IF, Louisiana Lafayette) and Taylor Ward (C, Fresno State)


Related Articles