May 19, 2014 - by
Stewart Named ACC Player of the Year

May 19, 2014

DJ Stewart was honored as the 2014 ACC Player of the Year.

GREENSBORO, N.C.– Florida State, champions of the ACC Atlantic Division and seeded second in the upcoming conference baseball Championship in Greensboro, N.C., placed six student-athletes on the 2014 All-ACC teams as announced on Monday, May 19 by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

DJ Stewart, who garnered All-ACC honors for the second year in a row, became the seventh Seminole in school history to garner Player of the Year accolades. The sophomore outfielder is the first Seminole to win the award since James Ramseytook home the individual honor in 2012. Stewart is the fourth Seminole outfielder to win the award joining J.D. Drew (1997), John Ford-Griffin (2001) and Ramsey (2012).

John Nogowski (1B), Jose Brizuela (3B) and Luke Weaver (SP) joined Stewart on the All-ACC first team, while junior Josh Delph (DH/UT) and senior Gage Smith(RP) were named to the third team.

Weaver earns all-conference honors for the second straight year as he was named to the second team in 2013. Brizuela, Delph, Nogowski and Smith are all first-time honorees.

The Seminoles were recognized with six All-ACC honorees in 2014.

Stewart finished the regular season ranked in the top 10 in the ACC in nine offensive categories while leading in average (.362), on-base percentage (.478) and slugging percentage (.588) and tied in RBI (47) and doubles (19). A semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, Stewart finished league play hitting .388 with 11 doubles, four home runs and 30 RBI in 26 games. The Yulee, Fla., native leads the team with 19 multi-hit games including a career-high four hits three times. Stewart has reached base safely in 47 of the 48 games in which he has played this year.

Nogowski appeared in all 55 games during the regular season starting 54 at first base. The junior from Tallahassee, Fla., has recorded single-season career-highs in average (.309), runs (45), hits (60), doubles (12), home runs (4), RBI (46) and walks (42) this year. Nogowski concluded the regular season ranking in the top 10 in the ACC in walks (tied for third), RBI (tied for fourth), runs scored (tied for fifth) and seventh in on-base percentage (.438). He finished league play hitting .297 with three home runs and 23 RBI.

Brizuela is just one of two Seminoles to start all 55 games this year. The junior third baseman leads the team with 65 hits, while ranking second in average (.325), runs scored (44) and stolen bases (11). The Weston, Fla., native matched his regular-season career-high for doubles (14) in 2014, while setting new highs for runs and stolen bases. He has tallied 18 multi-hit and 12 multi-RBI games for the Seminoles this year.

Weaver has served as Florida State’s Friday night starter all season long and finished the regular season with an 8-3 record and a 2.45 ERA. The junior right hander leads the team in starts (14), wins, innings pitched (95.1) and strikeouts (75), while holding opponents to a .221 average. Weaver tossed a complete game, one-hit shutout against Boston College in Rhode Island and then followed with his second complete game victory at Wake Forest on April 18. The DeLand, Fla., native has worked six or more innings in 12 starts this year, while tallying seven or more strikeouts six times. Weaver ranks in the top 10 in the ACC in wins (tied for third), innings pitched (fourth) and strikeouts (10th).

Delph appeared in 53 games making 48 starts serving in a split role this year playing both right field and as the Seminole designated hitter. The junior from Bartow, Fla., is hitting .275 on the year with 49 hits and 33 runs scored. Delph is tied for third on the team with 14 doubles. He leads the team with three outfield assists while posting a perfect fielding percentage in 56 opportunities.

Smith enters the postseason leading the ACC with 36 appearances. The Tallahassee, Fla., has led the league in appearances the last two years and has 110 career relief appearances in three years which ranks fourth all-time at Florida State. Smith is 4-2 on the year with a 2.20 ERA with one save. The redshirt senior right hander has thrown in 57.1 innings recording 28 strikeouts while walking just five. He threw a career-high 6.1 shutout innings in a come-from-behind victory at Georgia Tech earlier this year.

Florida State opens the 2014 ACC Baseball Championship on Wednesday, May 21 at 7:00 p.m. against the winner of Tuesday’s play-in game featuring seventh-seeded North Carolina and 10th-seeded NC State.

Below is a complete list of the 2014 All-ACC honorees:

Brett Austin, Jr., C, NC State
Mike Papi, Jr., 1B, Virginia **
John Nogowski, Jr., 1B, Florida State
Branden Cogswell, Jr., 2B, Virginia **
Jose Brizuela, Jr., 3B, Florida State
Trea Turner, Jr., SS, NC State ***
Chris Shaw, So., OF, Boston College
DJ Stewart, So., OF, Florida State **
Joe McCarthy, So., OF, Virginia **
Nick Howard, Jr., DH/UT, Virginia **
Nathan Kirby, So., SP, Virginia
Daniel Gossett, Jr., SP, Clemson **
Chris Diaz, Jr., SP, Miami
Luke Weaver, Jr., SP, Florida State **
Carlos Rodon, Jr., SP, NC State ***
Reilly Hovis, So., RP, North Carolina

Mark Zagunis, Jr., C, Virginia Tech **
Thomas Smith, Jr., 1B, Georgia Tech
Steve Wilkerson, Sr., 2B, Clemson ***
Jordan Betts, Sr., 3B, Duke **
Michael Russell, Jr., SS, North Carolina
Tyler Krieger, So., SS, Clemson
Charlie White, Jr., OF, Maryland **
Daniel Spingola, Jr., OF, Georgia Tech
Dale Carey, Sr., OF, Miami
Chris Marconcini, R-Jr., OF, Duke
Matt Gonzalez, So., OF, Georgia Tech
Garrett Boulware, Jr., DH/UT, Clemson
Jake Stinnett, Sr., SP, Maryland
Trent Thornton, So., SP, North Carolina **
Bryan Radziewski, R-Jr., SP, Miami **
Bryan Garcia, Fr., RP, Miami

Zack Collins, Fr., C, Miami
Nate Irving, Jr., C, Virginia
Aaron Cohn, R-Sr., 1B, Duke
Brandon Lowe, R-Fr., 2B, Maryland
Mott Hyde, Sr., 2B, Georgia Tech
Andrew Knizner, Fr., 3B, NC State
Daniel Pinero, Fr., SS, Virginia
Willie Abreu, Fr., OF, Miami
Steven Duggar, So., OF, Clemson
Jay Baum, Jr., OF, Clemson
Josh Delph, Jr., DH/UT, Florida State
Tom Zengel, Sr., DH/UT, North Carolina
Brandon Waddell, So., SP, Virginia
Matthew Crownover, So., SP, Clemson
Andrew Suarez, Jr., SP, Miami
Gage Smith, R-Sr., RP, Florida State

ACC Player of the Year: DJ Stewart, Florida State
ACC Pitchers of the Year: Chris Diaz, Miami & Nathan Kirby, Virginia
ACC Freshman of the Year: Zack Collins, Miami
ACC Coach of the Year: Brian O’Connor, Virginia

** denotes two-time All-ACC honoree; ***denotes three-time All-ACC honoree.


Related Articles