May 9, 2014 - by
Stewart Named to Golden Spikes 30-Man Watch List

May 9, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s DJ Stewart was named to the 30-man mid-season Golden Spikes Award watch list as announced by USA Baseball.

The watch list will continue to be a “rolling” list until May 27 — when the semifinalists for the award are announced — ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award. The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live in Los Angeles on July 17.

Stewart leads Florida State in average (.351), home runs (7) and slugging percentage (.578), while tying for the team lead with 14 doubles. He also sits second in runs scored (38), hits (54) and RBI (40).

The Yulee, Fla., native ranks in the top 10 in the ACC in eight offensive categories including batting average, home runs, doubles, RBI, walks, total bases, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. Stewart has recorded 16 multi-hit games in 2014 including a team-high two four-hit games. He has also recorded multiple RBI in a game 10 times this year.

Stewart, who recently accepted an invitation to play with the USA Collegiate National team this summer, has reached base via a hit, walk or hit-by-pitch in 40 of the 41 games in which he has played in this year.

USA Baseball officials will announce the list of semifinalists for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 27. The list of athletes will then be sent to a voting body consisting of Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2014. Tuesday, May 27 marks the day when amateur baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names.

Last year, University of San Diego’s infielder, Kris Bryant, took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

Other past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Jim Abbott (1987), Robin Ventura (1988), Ben McDonald (1989), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006) and David Price (2007).

Florida State leads the nation with the most Golden Spikes Award winners all-time with four – Mike Fuentes (1981), Mike Loynd (1986), JD Drew (1997) and Buster Posey (2008).


Related Articles