April 23, 2018
Swim & Dive Celebrates 2017-18



TALLAHASSEE, Fla.   –  In front of family, friends and Florida State staff, the FSU swimming and diving teams hosted its annual awards banquet on Saturday morning.

A total of 12 awards were given out by head coach Neal Studd and head diving coach John Proctor in addition to recognizing the senior class.

Senior Tayla Lovemore was selected as the women’s MVP for the season. The Durban, South Africa native placed 16th in the 100 fly at the NCAA Championships, earning her second-straight All-America honorable mention accolade in the race.

She also won bronze in the 100 fly at the ACC Championships and helped the Noles to a third place finish in the 400 medley relay. Lovemore was also a part of both relays that set school records (200 free and 400 medley) this season.

Junior Will Pisani took home the MVP honor for the men’s team. Pisani was a part of every FSU record-breaking swim this season including claiming his first individual mark in the 100 free at 42.41.

Pisani helped the Seminoles earn an All-America nod behind a seventh place finish at the NCAA Championships in the 200 free relay before winning the consolation heat of the 400 free relay to finish ninth nationally.

Freshman Joshua Davidson was chosen as both the Diving MVP and Team Rookie of the Year. Davidson collected a plethora of awards during his rookie year, including a pair of podium finishes at the ACC Championships before advancing to the NCAA Championships in both springboard events.

Senior Blaire Mulka was chosen as the Diving MVP after winning the ACC title on 1-meter while freshman Elise Olsen won the Rookie of the Year after advancing to the NCAA Championships in the 100 fly in addition to being a part of the school record-setting 200 free relay.

Studd also handed out other awards, including Hardest Worker, Most Improved and the Coaches’ Award.

Juniors Natalie Purnell and John Vann won the Hardest Worker awards while juniors Kanoa Kaleoaloha and Daniella Van den Berge won the Most Improved honor.

The Coaches’ Award, which is given to those that best demonstrate the qualities of a well-rounded FSU student-athlete, was won by sophomore Mykala Arnold and senior Jacob Urbano, who also serves as FSU SAAC president.

In addition, the 2018-19 season captains were revealed. Rising seniors Leila Johnston, Purnell, Pisani and Vann will lead the Seminoles next season.

Zortea Competes at 2018 Brazil Trophy

Formerly known as the Maria Lenk Trophy, freshman Ana Zortea competed at the 2018 Brazil Trophy in Rio de Janeiro last week.

Zortea raced in the backstroke events, finishing seventh in the 50m back with a time of 29.57 before taking ninth in the 100m back at 1:04.98.

Noles Take San Juan International Open

Freshman Elise Olsen and junior Fabiana Ingram competed at the 2018 San Juan International Open in Puerto Rico this past weekend.

Olsen won the 100m fly with a time of 1.00.90 before time trialing the race to produce a career best of 1:00.70.

Ingram competed in four finals, including the 50m and 100m back and 50m and 100m free.

Related Articles