November 17, 2016 - by
Tarvarus McFadden Named Nagurski Trophy Finalist

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Sophomore cornerback Tarvarus McFadden is one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the Charlotte Touchdown Club announced Thursday morning. McFadden leads the country with seven interceptions on the season.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive football player and will be awarded in Charlotte on Monday, December 5th.

McFadden, from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., has seven of Florida State’s 12 interceptions on the season. He is the first Seminole since Samari Rolle in 1997 with seven interceptions in a season and ranks fourth in single-season history at FSU. Seeing the first extended action of his career, McFadden has started all 10 games for the Seminoles in 2016.

McFadden has one interception in seven different games this year, and has interceptions against some of the top quarterbacks in the country: Walter Camp Award semifinalists Lamar Jackson of Louisville, Quinton Flowers of USF and Deshaun Watson of Clemson, as well as Ole Miss’ Chad Kelly and Miami’s Brad Kaaya.

He had a stretch of four consecutive games with an interception, one shy of the school record.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association.

2016 Bronko Nagurski Finalists


Jonathan Allen, DE, Alabama

Reuben Foster, LB, Alabama

Tarvarus McFadden, DB, Florida State

Jabrill Peppers, LB, Michigan

Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Verdana} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 10.0px Verdana} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

Dalvin Cook Among Walter Camp Award Semifinalists

A day after being named a Doak Walker semifinalist, junior running back Dalvin Cook is one of 15 players named a Walter Camp Player of the Year semifinalist, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced Thursday morning.

Tarvarus McFadden Named Nagurski Trophy Finalist

Cook, one of just three running backs on the list, has 1,242 rushing yards, 400 receiving yards and 14 total touchdowns in 2016. His 1,642 yards from scrimmage rank second in the Power 5, while his 14.8 yards per reception are the most of any qualifying running back with at least 20 receptions.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year will announce five finalists on Wednesday, November 30, and the winner will be announced live on SportsCenter on December 8.

2016 Walter Camp Semifinalists


Jonathan Allen, DE, Alabama

J.T. Barrett, QB, Ohio State

Jake Browning, QB, Washington

Dalvin Cook, RB, Florida State

Luke Falk, QB, Washington State

Quinton Flowers, QB, USF

D’Onta Foreman, RB, Texas

Jalen Hurts, QB, Alabama

Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville

Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma

Raekwon McMillan, LB, Ohio State

Jabrill Peppers, DB/RB/KR, Michigan

Donnel Pumphrey, RB, San Diego State

Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson

Dede Westbrook, WR, Oklahoma

Related Articles