December 2, 2019
Taryn Knuth Named ACC DPOY As Four Seminoles Earn All-ACC Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — For the first time in ACC history, a non-libero is crowned the conference’s best defender as Florida State junior Taryn Knuth is named the 2019 ACC Defensive Player of the Year. It also marked the first time an FSU player has earned the award, as the middle blocker led the ACC and ranked fourth in the NCAA with 154 blocks, including 24 solo blocks.

Knuth is joined on the All-ACC First Team by senior Payton Caffrey and junior Jasmyn Martin was selected to the All-ACC Second Team, while Emma Clothier was chosen to the All-ACC Freshman Team. The four student-athletes named to the All-ACC teams is tied for third in the conference this season.

“I’m really proud of all four that were chosen to the All-ACC teams this year,” said FSU head coach Chris Poole. “We’ve had a year where a lot of different players have stepped up in different matches. So while we know that not everyone can be recognized, to get four honored by our conference that is continuing to get deeper and deeper is significant. There are no easy matches anymore in the ACC, and you see that with how competitive the matches are. Our depth was as good as it has ever been, and that is helping us really push the players in practice to get better.”

Caffrey finished the regular season ranked second in the conference in both kills per set (3.98) and points per set (4.45), while Martin completed her first season in the Garnet and Gold with 201 kills, a .272 hitting percentage and 78 blocks. Clothier ranks 48th in the NCAA in blocks per set with 1.25, and that total is ninth among freshman in the nation and tops in the ACC.

The Seminoles will open the 2019 NCAA Volleyball Championship in Gainesville, Fla. on Thursday, December 5 with a match against UCF (24-7) at 4:30 p.m.

Follow Florida State volleyball on Twitter (@FSU_Volleyball) and Instagram (fsuvolleyball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole Volleyball.

2019 All-ACC Volleyball Teams
Player of the Year: Kayla Lund, Jr., OH, Pitt
Defensive Player of the Year: Taryn Knuth, Jr., MB, Florida State
Setter of the Year: Matti McKissock, So., S, Georgia Tech
Freshman of the Year: Julia Bergmann, OH, Georgia Tech
Coach of the Year: Michelle Collier, Georgia Tech

All-ACC First Team
Payton Caffrey^**, Sr., OH, Florida State
Taryn Knuth***, Jr., MB, Florida State
Julia Bergmann, Fr., OH, Georgia Tech
Mariana Brambilla**, So., OH, Georgia Tech
Kodie Comby^, Sr., MB, Georgia Tech
Matti McKissock, So., S, Georgia Tech
Aiko Jones, R-Fr., OPP, Louisville
Lauren Harrison, R-Fr., OH, North Carolina
Charley Niego**, So., OH, Notre Dame
Zoe Nunez**, So., S, Notre Dame
Kayla Lund***, Jr., OH, Pitt
Chinaza Ndee**, Jr., RS/MB, Pitt
Layne Van Buskirk^***, Sr., MB, Pitt
Polina Shemanova^**, So., OH, Syracuse

All-ACC Second Team
Amaka Chukwujekwu, Jr., MB, Boston College
Kaylin Korte**, Jr., OH, Clemson
Jasmyn Martin, Jr., OH, Florida State
Mikaila Dowd**, So., OH, Georgia Tech
Kayla Kaiser, So., MB, Georgia Tech
Anna Stevenson, Jr., MH, Louisville
Elizaveta Lukianova**, Jr. , OH , Miami
Melissa Evans***, Jr., OPP, NC State
Sydney Bent**, So., OH, Notre Dame
Caroline Meuth, Fr., OH, Notre Dame
Lexis Akeo, Fr., S, Pitt
Hali Hillegas, Sr., L, Pitt
Stephanie Williams****, Sr., OH, Pitt
Caitlyn Della**, Sr., MB, Wake Forest

All-ACC Freshman Team
Emma Clothier, MB, Florida State
Julia Bergmann, OH, Georgia Tech
Amber Stivrins, OH, Louisville
Amaya Tillman, MB, Louisville
Savannah Vach, S, Miami
Parker Austin, OH, North Carolina
Skyy Howard, MB, North Carolina
Caroline Meuth, OH, Notre Dame
Lexis Akeo, S, Pitt

^ – denotes unanimous selection
* – denotes number of All-ACC honors in career

Related Articles