July 16, 2020 - by

Thirteen Individuals, Women’s Team Earn All-Academic Honors

USTFCCCA Releases Men’s Individuals / Women’s Individuals / Women’s Teams

TALLAHASSEE – The Florida State track & field teams were once again well-represented as the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) handed out its All-Academic honors Thursday, emblematic of both athletic and academic excellence.

In all, 13 Noles – eight women and five men – claimed individual All-Academic honors, which requires athletes to have a minimum 3.25 cumulative grade point average and rank among the top 96 nationally in a championship individual event or top 48 as a relay member during the indoor season.

In addition to the individual honors, the Florida State women earned All-Academic team honors after posting a cumulative 3.487 grade point average. It marks the 11th consecutive year the women’s team has earned the distinction.

The Noles’ grade point average was second-highest among the 13 Atlantic Coast Conference women’s teams that were recognized, trailing only Duke. FSU was one of 264 women’s teams to meet the qualifying standard of a 3.0 cumulative grade point average for its entire roster.

Junior Maudie Skyring, an NCAA Indoor Championships qualifier in the mile, leads the FSU women with her third consecutive All-Academic selection. Elizabeth Funderburk, an NCAA Indoor qualifier in the 5000-meter run, collected her second honor as did 400-meter standout Janae Caldwell.

Among the first-time honorees are Jazmyn Dennis (pole vault), Rebecca Clark and Addi Coggins (5000), and both Yasmine Abbes and Ellie Wallace, who were members of the distance medley relay.

Three of the five All-Academic men earned honors for the second time as Noles, led by ACC Indoor Track Performer of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year Trey Cunningham. A third-time NCAA Indoor Championships qualifier, Cunningham was the nation’s top-ranked 60-meter hurdler.

Steven Cross (3000-meter run) and Bert Freire (distance medley relay) were also recognized for the second time. Miler and grad transfer Kasey Knevelbaard earned his first honor with the Noles, as did Tyler Dau (distance medley relay).

The Florida State men claimed their third consecutive ACC Indoor Championship team title

Collectively, FSU’s combined 13 individual honors were the third-most in the ACC, behind Virginia Tech (17) and Notre Dame (15). The women’s eight selections ranked second, while the men’s five selections were third among ACC programs.

Related Articles