February 25, 2007 - by
Thornton Named A Naimsith Award Finalist

Feb. 25, 2007

Florida State University senior Al Thornton, one of the top contenders to become the first Seminole to earn Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year honors, has been named as one of 30 finalists for the Naismith Award presented by AT&T which is annually awarded to the nation’s top collegiate basketball player by the Atlanta Tip-Off Club.

Thornton leads the ACC in conference games only scoring (22.1 ppg) and rebounding (8.8 rpg), 20+ point games (15) and ACC double-doubles (five). He is the ONLY player in the ACC who ranks in the leagues TOP SEVEN in all-games scoring (second, 19.2 ppg), rebounding (seventh, 7.2 rpg), free throw shooting percentage (sixth, .810) and field goal shooting percentage (seventh, .520).

Thornton may be the most important player to his team of any player in the ACC. He has scored an ACC leading 557 points and owns a career-high 19.2 points per game scoring average. Thornton has scored 26 percent of the Seminoles’ 2,149 points this season. He is the only player in the ACC to have scored more than 25 percent of his team’s total points this season.

Ballots will be sent out to the Naismith voting academy the week of Feb. 26 asking them to narrow the list to four individuals. Those finalists will be announced in mid-March. The winner will be honored during Final Four weekend in Atlanta.

The first award was given to Lew Alcindor, now known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, in 1969.

2007 Men's Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T Top 30 List
Aaron Afflalo, UCLA               Al Horford, Florida
Morris Almond, Rice               Jarrius Jackson, Texas Tech
Corey Brewer, Florida             Dominic James, Marquette
JamesOn Curry, Oklahoma State     Acie Law, Texas A&M
Jemareo Davidson, Alabama         Chris Lofton, Tennessee
Glen Davis, LSU                   Josh McRoberts, Duke
Jared Dudley, Boston College      Randolph Morris, Kentucky
Kevin Durant, Texas               Joakim Noah, Florida
Nick Fazekas, Nevada              Brandon Rush, Kansas
Aaron Gray, Pittsburgh            Sean Singletary, Virginia
Jeff Green, Georgetown            Curtis Sumpter, Villanova
Ronald Steele, Alabama            Al Thornton, Florida State
Taurean Green, Florida            Alando Tucker, Wisconsin
Adam Haluska, Iowa                D.J. White, Indiana
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
Roy Hibbert, Georgetown
Related Articles