February 10, 2016 - by
Three Named to Athlon Sports Preseason All-America Team

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Florida State senior men’s golfer Hank Lebioda is one of 25 amateur golfers to be named to the 2016 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, announced on Wednesday by the Colonial Country Club, the Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is issued annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

Three Named to Athlon Sports Preseason All-America Team

Lebioda has been one of the most consistent golfers in program history, coming off another strong fall season where he finished with the 12th-best average score nationally at 69.92 in four tournaments played. Among his best attributes was his par 4 scoring, which was tied for eighth-best in the fall at 3.92.

The Winter Springs, Fla., native is a returning Golfweek and GCAA All-American who was a catalyst for FSU winning seven different tournaments over the last year. The left-handed golfer has a career scoring average of 71.45 that currently ranks third all-time at FSU behind PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Daniel Berger (second – 71.25) and pro player Jack Maguire (70.78).

In Lebioda’s 113 career rounds played at FSU, he is tied with current PGA Tour player Brooks Koepka for the most rounds at par or less with 65. His 382 career birdies are also fifth all-time at FSU as he is well within striking distance of the school-record 454 birdies held by Koepka.

The talented senior is the sixth Seminole to be placed on the Ben Hogan Award Watch List, joining Maguire (2015), Berger (2013), Koepka (2012), Seth Lauer (2010) and PGA Tour golfer Jonas Blixt (2008). Blixt was also named a semifinalist for the award in 2008.

The list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 13. On Tuesday, May 3, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 23, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Colonial National Invitation Tournament, where the winner will be crowned.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014) and Rahm (Arizona State, 2015).

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit TheBenHoganAward.org and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.

Watch List Candidates
Name – School, Year, Hometown
Dawson Armstrong – Lipscomb, So., Brentwood, Tenn.
Derek Bard – Virginia, Jr., New Hartford, N.Y.
Sean Crocker – Southern California, So., Westlake Village, Calif.
Charlie Danielson – Illinois, Sr., Osceola, Wis.
Thomas Detry – Illinois, Sr., Brussels, Belgium
Jonathan Garrick – UCLA, Sr., Atherton, Calif.
Nick Hardy – Illinois, So., Northbrook, Ill.
Rico Hoey – Southern California, Jr., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Sam Horsfield – Florida, Fr., Davenport, Fla.
Beau Hossler – Texas, Jr., Mission Viejo, Calif.
Michael Johnson – Auburn, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.
Hank Lebioda – Florida State, Sr., Winter Springs, Fla.
Lee McCoy – Georgia, Sr., Clarkesville, Ga.
Maverick McNealy – Stanford, Jr., Portola Valley, Calif.
Matthew NeSmith – South Carolina, Sr., North Augusta, S.C.
Jordan Niebrugge – Oklahoma State, Sr., Mequon, Wis.
Corey Pereira – Washington, Jr., Cameron Park, Calif.
Jon Rahm – Arizona State, Sr., Barrika, Spain
Antoine Rozner – UMKC, Sr., Paris, France
Matthias Schwab – Vanderbilt, Jr., Rohrmoos, Austria
Robby Shelton – Alabama, Jr., Wilmer, Ala.
Aaron Wise – Oregon, So., Lake Elsinore, Calif.
Adam Wood – Duke, So., Zionsville, Ind.
Cameron Young – Wake Forest, Fr., Scarborough, N.Y.
Will Zalatoris – Wake Forest, So., Plano, Texas

Related Articles