July 18, 2014 - by
Three Noles Round Out Preseason Watch List Honorees

July 18, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Seniors Cameron Erving and Rashad Greene and reigning Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston rounded out Seminoles on the final National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) Watch Lists earlier this week.

Erving and Winston were named to the Walter Camp Foundation 2014 Player of the Year Watch List, while Greene garnered mention on the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List. Winston also was named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List.

Overall, Florida State was mentioned 25 times on 14 different NCFAA Watch Lists and 14 different players captured acclaim.

Winston and Erving were both Walter Camp Second Team All-Americans a year ago. Winston won both the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Davey O’Brien Award in 2013, as well.

The 6-4, 230-pound quarterback tossed for 4,057 yards and 40 touchdowns in 2013, while winning nearly every national player of the year award and capturing consensus All-America honors.

Erving was the recipient of the ACC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given to the conference’s top offensive lineman, and garnered several All-America accolades.

The Biletnikoff Award was created and is sponsored by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC Foundation). The award recognizes the nation’s most outstanding receiver and is named after former Florida State All-American Fred Biletnikoff, who is a member of both the pro and college football halls of fame.

No Seminole has won the award, which was created in 1994. Peter Watrick (1998, 1999) and Marvin “Snoop” Minnis (2000) were each finalists.

Greene, the Seminoles’ leading receiver the past three years, has as good chance as any to claim the award heading into the 2014 season. The Albany, Ga., native is just 42 receptions away from becoming FSU’s career leader and also will contend for the all-time Garnet and Gold marks in receiving yards and touchdown catches. Greene totaled 76 receptions for 1,128 yards and nine scores in 2013 en route to All-ACC First Team honors.


Seminoles on National College Football Awards Association 2014 Watch Lists

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) Rashad Greene (Sr., WR) Karlos Williams (Sr., RB) Jameis Winston (R-So., QB)

Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Tight End) Nick O’Leary (Sr., TE)

Rimington Trophy (Premier Center) Austin Barron (Sr., C)

Lou Groza Award (Top Kicker) Roberto Aguayo (R-So., K)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Most Outstanding Defensive Player) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Outland Trophy (Most Outstanding Interior Lineman) Cameron Erving (R-Sr, LT) Tre’ Jackson (Sr., RG) Josue Matias (Sr., LG)

Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back) Jalen Ramsey (So., S/CB) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) Terrance Smith (R-Jr., LB)

Rotary Lombardi Award (Lineman of the Year) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) Cameron Erving (R-Sr, LT) Tre’ Jackson (Sr., RG) Josue Matias (Sr., LG)

Paul Hornung Award (Most Versatile) Kermit Whitfield (So., KR/WR)

Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Receiver) Rashad Greene (Sr., WR)

Davey O’Brien Award (Best Quarterback) Jameis Winston (R-So., QB)

Walter Camp Award (Most Outstanding Player) Cameron Erving (R-Sr, LT) Jameis Winston (R-So., QB)

Related Articles