May 9, 2018 - by
Three Pairs Set to Compete in USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships
Three Pairs Set to Compete in USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships

Full Release

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State will send three pairs to compete in the Bridgestone USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships May 10-12 in Hermosa Beach, Calif. The Seminoles’ top three pairs will compete in a 32-team bracket for a spot to represent the United States at the 2018 FISU World University Championship.

The pairs of Tory Paranagua and Vanessa Freire, Katie Horton and Hailey Luke, and Sara Putt and Macy Jerger will represent the Seminoles at the event.

Three Pairs Set to Compete in USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships

Paranagua and Freire established themselves as two of the Seminoles’ most elite players, becoming the fifth and sixth players to reach 100 career overall wins in program history, respectively. The two have accumulated a 26-5 record over their two seasons playing together, with 15 of those wins coming from the No. 1 position in 2018. FSU’s No. 1 pair earned wins over seven of the pairs competing at the event in Hermosa Beach this season. The pair enters the tournament as the No. 2 seed.


Three Pairs Set to Compete in USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships

Horton and Luke stayed consistent throughout the 2018 season, starting off their only season playing together with seven consecutive wins, and then closing it out with a 22-1 record. They earned wins against 10 different ranked teams and led the Seminoles in clinching points. The pair’s 33 wins ranks seventh in program history, and is the fourth-most earned by a team in only one season.

FSU’s No. 2 pair was named the CCSA Tournament MVP after their outstanding performance in the Seminoles’ run for its third-straight CCSA Championship, and then represented FSU as the No. 2 pair on the NCAA All-Tournament team. The pair enters the tournament as the No. 14 seed.


Three Pairs Set to Compete in USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships

Jerger and Putt teamed up midway through the 2018 season, and then continued on to win 19 matches in a row with 18 wins in the No. 2 position. The pair earned wins against six different ranked teams, and went undefeated at the CCSA Championship to help FSU win its third-straight conference title. Jerger/Putt added a pair of straight-set wins to Florida State’s victories over USC and UCLA in the first day of the NCAA Championship, and only surrendered six sets in their 21 matches together. The pair enters the tournament as the No. 8 seed.


The dual-gendered pairs event returns with a 32-team women’s bracket and eight-team men’s competition. The action begins on Thursday morning with pool play and continues on Friday with the men’s semifinals. The women’s semifinals and medal matches will be Saturday. The finals will be televised on NBCSN from 4-6 p.m. ET on May 12.

The Bridgestone USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships is part of the 2018 Team USA Summer Champions Series, presented by Xfinity. The Champions Series showcases numerous Olympic sports throughout the season, highlighting the year-round quest of Team USA athletes to compete at the Olympic Games.


Teams by Seed


1. Corinne Quiggle / Deahna Kraft – Pepperdine
2. Vanessa Freire / Tory Paranagua – Florida State
3. Madalyn Roh / Brook Bauer – Pepperdine
4. Presley Forbes / Cali Bunn – Hawaii
5. Cadie Bates / Katie Smith – South Carolina
6. Olivia Powers / Hunter Domanski – Louisiana State
7. Molly Turner / Hannah Towne – Grand Canyon
8. Macy Jerger / Sara Putt – Florida State
9. Lindsey Knudsen / Emily Bible – Saint Mary’s of California
10. Claire Coppola / Kristen Nuss – Louisiana State
11. Cassie House / Haven Hill – TCU
12. Mima Mirkovic / Alexia Inman – Cal
13. Jessalyn Kinlaw / Mackenzie Morris – Florida Atlantic
14. Hailey Luke / Katie Horton – Florida State
15. Sasha Karelov / Nicci Reinking – Long Beach State
16. Jessica Gaffney / Iya Lindahl – Cal
17. Torrey Van Winden / Emily Sonny – Cal Poly
18. Emmy Allen / Megan Davenport – Louisiana State
19. Julia Mannisto / Carly Schnieder – South Caroloina
20. Carly Scarbrough / Brittany Pellitteri – Florida Atlantic
21. Amelia Smith / Sunny Villapando – Stanford
22. Savannah Slattery / Madelon Leiphardt – Loyola Marymount
23. Kayla Armer / Victoria Hinojosa – Houston Baptist
00. Kenley Adams / Sallianne Napolitano – Alabama-Birmingham
00. Jordan Anderson / Kimmy Gardiner – Washington
00. Tiffany Creamer / Brooke Weiner – Georgia State
00. Nicole Lott / Maddy Kline – North Carolina-Wilmington
00. Kaylie McHugh / Madeline Mertz – Tulane
00. Teegan Van Gunst / Annika Van Gunst – Georgia State
00. Jessica Wooten / Aeriel Horton – Houston Baptist


1. Hagen Smith / Lucas Yoder – UCLA
2. Will Bantle / Matt McLaren – Penn State
3. Jon Justice / Adam Wienckowski – Florida State
4. Brett Rosenmeier / Colton Cowell – Hawaii
5. Robert Mullahey / Owen Yoshimoto – Pepperdine
6. Grant Friedman / J.B. Kam – UC Irvine
00. Raymond Barsemian / Chandler Gibb – Concordia
00. Collin Merk / Anthony Winter – Quincy


Follow the team on Facebook (Florida State Beach Volleyball), Twitter (FSU_BeachVB) and Instagram (FSUbeachvolleyball).


Related Articles