July 1, 2008 - by
Three Seminoles Named To The Maxwell Award Watch List

July 1, 2008

Greg Carr, Antone Smith and Drew Weatherford were each placed on the watch list for the 72nd Maxwell Award.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced in early November and the three finalists for each award will be announced November 25th. The winners of the 2008 Maxwell Award wikk be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.

Florida State Hall of Fame member Charlie Ward is the only Florida State Football player to win the Maxwell Award. Ward won literally every award he was eligible for as a senior signal caller. After the 1993 season Ward won the Davey O’Brien Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, The Maxwell Award and the Heisman Trophy.

To read more on Charlie Ward, Click Here.

Related Articles