March 6, 2008 - by
Tiffany McDonald Named Candidate For Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

March 6, 2008

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. – Florida State’s Tiffany McDonald became the university’s first softball student-athlete to be named a candidate for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award announced on Tuesday, March 4. Thirty of the nation’s top college softball players who excel both on and off the field and make a positive impact on their communities were named to the list. The 2008 season is the second year the award has been extended to the sport of softball.

A 2007 All-ACC second team selection, McDonald’s name appears in four all-time and five single season top ten lists at Florida State. The senior entered 2008 with 699 total innings pitched and 695 strikeouts, both good for sixth on the all-time list for FSU. Following the 2007 season, McDonald totaled eight saves to set a new Seminole career record while her 329.1 innings pitched in 2003 tops the single season record books.

“Tiffany [McDonald] is the complete package,” head coach JoAnne Graf said. “She’s an all-around combination of athlete and student. Tiffany not only excels on the field, but is a standout student in the classroom as well.”

In its second year, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award’s 30 softball nominees represent 30 different schools and 18 conferences, with three from the Atlantic Coast Conference.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition. The program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, while remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring.

From the list of 30 candidates, a national media committee will select 10 finalists in late March. Those 10 nominees will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote that will include coaches, media and fans. The award winner will be announced at the 2008 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Related Articles