December 13, 2011 - by
`Tis the Season

Dec. 13, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Nine members of the Florida State Diving team are set to compete at the Winter Diving National Championships on Dec. 15-22 in Knoxville, Tenn., hosted by the University of Tennessee at the Allan Jones Aquatic Complex.  

As the men’s team takes the boards at the event this year, they will look to defend their team title as they were crowned champions at last year’s meet.

Competing on the one-meter and three meter springboards are freshman Ford McLiney, sophomore Thomas Neubacher, senior Lisi Rowland, junior Ariel Rittenhouse and sophomore Katrina Young. McLiney and Young will also be competing on the 10-meter platform.  

Junior Nick Klein will be diving on the three-meter springboard and the 10-meter platform and former Seminole diver Landon Marzullo will be competing on both one and three meter springboards.

This event will serve as the final opportunity to qualify for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials in which the top-12 finishers in each individual event will be selected.  Rittenhouse, McLiney, Tom Neubacher, Mike Neubacher and Nick Klein have already punched their tickets to Federal Way, Wash. for the event, which will be held June 17-24, 2012.

Check back to and twitter (@fsu_swimming) for updates throughout the competition. The meet schedule can be found here:

The season’s best dives can be found here:

Related Articles