May 3, 2018 - by
Touly, Hule Earn All-ACC Honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Seminoles garnished two members on the All-ACC team, Carla Touly (first team) and Petra Hule (second team), after finishing the season with an 18-8 record, good for the most regular season wins since 1999. These two Seminoles helped lead Florida State to a 9-5 finish in the ACC, the most ACC wins in school history.

“I’m so very happy for both Carla and Pep receiving this much-deserved recognition in our very strong ACC Conference,” said head coach Jennifer Hyde. “All season long these two, along with their teammates, have been so consistent in their performances and have both had a big impact in their first spring seasons.”


Touly, Hule Earn All-ACC Honors

In both of their first year of competition Touly and Hule took the ACC by storm as they combined for a 29-13 record during the spring on courts one and two.

Touly collected her first All-ACC honors after having to sit out last season. She made an immediate impact starting on court one all season. The sophomore recorded a 13-7 record with all but one of her matches on court one. Touly earned a 9-4 record in the ACC, which saw her defeat both UNC and Georgia Tech. Touly ended the season with a 6-6 record against ranked opponents. Touly will be the only Seminole competing in the NCAA Singles Championship.

In her first season on campus, Hule was able to earn second-team All-ACC honors. Hule came into the spring after a 9-5 performance in the fall and continued to improve as she played 16 of her 22 matches on court two. Hule wrapped up the spring with a 16-6 record, which saw her go 11-3 against ACC opponents and 4-2 against ranked opponents.

Touly will begin competition in the NCAA Singles Championship Starting May 23 after the team championships are completed. The Singles Championships are hosted in Winston-Salem on the campus of Wake Forest.

Florida State earned the two seed in the Gainesville regional, which begins next weekend. The Seminoles open tournament action on Friday, May 11, against North Florida.

2018 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Awards

Player of the Year
Estela Perez-Somarriba, SO, Miami

Freshman of the Year
Kelly Chen, Duke

Coach of the Year
Jamie Ashworth, Duke

2018 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Teams

First Team
Marie-Alexandre Leduc**, JR, Clemson
Samantha Harris****, SR, Duke
Carla Touly, SO, Florida State
Paige Hourigan****, SR, Georgia Tech
Estela Perez-Somarriba**, SO, Miami
Makenna Jones, SO, North Carolina
Gabriela Knutson, JR, Syracuse
Rosie Johanson**, SO, Virginia
Emma Davis, JR, Wake Forest

Second Team
Kelly Chen, FR, Duke
Meible Chi**, SO, Duke
Petra Hule, FR, Florida State
Kenya Jones, SO, Georgia Tech
Sinead Lohan****, SR, Miami
Sara Daavettila**, SO, North Carolina
Alexa Graham**, SO, North Carolina
Alle Sanford, FR, North Carolina
Natalie Novotna**, SO, Virginia Tech

Third Team
Asiya Dair****, Boston College
Fernanda Navarro, JR, Clemson
Kaitlyn McCarthy**, JR, Duke
Ellyse Hamlin**, JR, Duke
Johnnise Renaud****, SR, Georgia Tech
Anna Rogers**, SO, NC State
Adriana Reami, SO, NC State
Allison Miller, SR, Notre Dame
Meghan Kelley, JR, Virginia

* – denotes number of All-ACC honors

Related Articles