August 12, 2021 - by
Trey Jones Named Southeast Region Coach of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Men’s Golf Head Coach Trey Jones has been named the Southeast Region Division I Coach of the Year, announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips.

Jones guided the Seminoles to a banner season in 2021, culminating with their second top 5 finish in program history and reaching the NCAA Championship Match Play Quarterfinals. FSU tied for fifth overall after entering the NCAAs as the nation’s top overall seed and also secured its first-ever regional win.

Jones, who is preparing for his 19th season with the Seminoles, was also a GCAA Coach of the Year finalist in 2021. Florida State won four tournaments this past season and spent several weeks as the nation’s top-ranked team, earning victories at the Camp Creek Seminole Invitational, the Seminole Intercollegiate, The Valspar Collegiate and the NCAA Tallahassee Regional.

Trey Jones Named Southeast Region Coach of the Year

The entire coaching staff earned praise this past year for the immense development shown in several Seminoles. John Pak earned a clean sweep of collegiate golf’s three main national player of the year honors in the Jack Nicklaus Award, the Ben Hogan Award and the Fred Haskins Award. Pak ended his legendary FSU run as the program’s career leader with a 69.87 scoring average and tying for the school record with eight victories.

Graduate transfer Vincent Norrman formed a strong duo with Pak, earning second-team All-America honors by the GCAA as well as Golfweek. Rising sophomore Brett Roberts also earned Honorable Mention All-America honors from both organizations.

Jones is one of just 15 coaches in the history of NCAA Division I golf to earn 30 or more victories, totaling 30 in his outstanding collegiate head coaching career at FSU. He has guided the Seminoles to 15 consecutive NCAA Regional appearances along with 27 All-America honors (by 13 different All-Americans).

FSU’s other Top 5 NCAA finish came under Jones in 2010 when it tied for third overall, reaching the match-play semifinals.


Northeast: Chris Baloga, Loyola (MD)
East: Larry Penley, Clemson
Southeast: Trey Jones, Florida State
Midwest: Mike Small, Illinois
Central: Brandt Kieschnick, Sam Houston State
West: Michael Beard, Pepperdine

East: Stephen Ferrara, St. Thomas Aquinas
Atlantic: Dustin Coleman, Gannon
Southeast: Darcy Donaldson, Georgia Southwestern
South: Steve Fell, West Florida
Midwest: Brent Nicoson, Indianapolis
Central: Luke Calcaterra, Arkansas Tech
West: Val Verhunce, Sonoma State

Northeast: Jaime Jackson, RPI
Mid-Atlantic: Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon
South: Steve Conley, Methodist
Great Lakes: Lauren Grogan, Denison
Central: Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan
West: Sean Etheredge, Trinity (TX)

North: Cameron Andry, Taylor
South: Ben Rickett, Dalton State
Central: Tom Harp, Wayland Baptist
West: Tina Barrett, Ottawa (AZ)

District I: Zach Smith, Eastern Wyoming
District II: Walt Williams, Midland
District III: Chris Young, Hutchinson
District IV: Dave Jennings, Central Alabama

East: Corbin Sebens, Parkland
West: Leo Maes, Glendale

About Golf Pride Grips:
Eaton’s Golf Pride Grips Division is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of golf grips, with manufacturing, sales and distribution facilities on six continents. The division’s Golf Pride brand is recognized globally as the number one choice in grips among TOUR and recreational players, competitive amateur golfers, club manufacturers and club repairmen.

Related Articles