August 2, 2017 - by
Trio of Noles Garner 2017 DiG Magazine All-American Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State beach volleyball’s Brooke Kuhlman, Leigh Andrew and Francesca Goncalves received 2017 All-American honors, as announced by DiG Volleyball Magazine.

This is Andrew’s second career All-American honor and fourth overall honor as a Seminole. In her graduate season with Florida State, Andrew had an incredibly successful 2017 season. She was named to the All-CCSA First Team, the ACC Academic Honor Roll and received AVCA All-American honors, and led her team to a CCSA Championship and an NCAA Tournament run in the No. 1 position alongside partner Kuhlman.

Kuhlman also received an AVCA All-American honor, and was named to the All-CCSA First Team and ACC Academic Honor Roll in her sophomore season with the Seminoles. The pair of Kuhlman/Andrew earned a 17-11 record in the No. 1 position, taking down 14 ranked teams along the way.

Goncalves came to the Seminoles in the 2016-17 season, where she immediately made an impact on the team. The Dallas native was named the CCSA Freshman of the Year following her 29-7 season with Florida State. Alongside partner Vanessa Freire, the two notched an impressive 12-3 record in the No. 2 position, and alongside Katie Horton earned a 15-4 record. Goncalves defeated 20 ranked opponents in her freshman campaign, and earned CCSA All-Tournament honors following a 4-1 record in her first postseason appearance.

Kuhlman and Goncalves will return to the Seminoles in 2018 as the team looks for yet another conference championship and a deep NCAA Tournament run.


2017 DiG Collegiate Beach Volleyball All-Americans

Brooke Kuhlman-Florida State
Nele Barber-Long Beach State
Rachel Nieto-Long Beach State
Megan McNamara-UCLA
Nicole McNamara-UCLA
Kelly Claes-USC
Nikki Taylor-Hawaii
Amy Neal-TCU
Leigh Andrew-Florida State
Mikayla Tucker-Hawaii
Madalyn Roh-Pepperdine
Delaney Knudsen-Pepperdine
Allie Wheeler-USC
Sophie Bukovec-USC
Sarah Sponcil-Loyola Marymount
Claire Coppola-LSU
Payton Rund-St. Mary’s
Lindsey Knudsen-St Mary’s
Corinne Quiggle-Pepperdine
Brittany Howard-Pepperdine
Chelsea Ross-Georgia State
Morgan Martin-Hawaii

Player of the Year-Sara Hughes-USC
Coach of the Year-Anna Collier-USC
Freshman of the Year-Francesca Goncalves-Florida State


For more information, follow the Seminoles on Twitter (@FSU_BeachVB), Instagram (fsubeachvolleyball) and Facebook (Florida State Beach Volleyball).

Related Articles