May 30, 2018
Trio Of Seminoles Earn NFCA All-American Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Helping lead the Seminoles to the 2018 ACC Championship as well advancing to the 2018 Women’s College World Series, three FSU student-athletes were honored by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association as redshirt senior pitcher Kylee Hanson, senior third baseman Jessie Warren and freshman second baseman Sydney Sherrill were named NFCA All-Americans on Wednesday.

Hanson and Warren were each named to the Second Team, while Sherrill earned a spot on the Third Team. It is the third consecutive All-American honor for Warren, while Hanson is a two-time honoree, adding to her 2016 award as a member of Florida Atlantic. Sherrill is receiving the award in her first season of collegiate softball.

It is the third year in a row that the Seminoles have placed at least three student-athletes on the All-American teams, and since 2013, Florida State has earned 14 total NFCA All-American accolades. Overall FSU boasts 49 NFCA All-Americans, spread among 33 different student-athletes.

“Really proud of Kylee, Jessie, Syd and the entire team for all of the work that they have put in this season,” said FSU head coach Lonni Alameda. “With Kylee joining a new team, new coaching staff and balancing that with graduate school and a competitive schedule, I’ve loved to watch her continue to grow and develop and take on the challenge. Jessie has really matured for us this year and has become a real leader for us offensively and defensively, taking the young ones and showing them what Florida State softball is all about. Sydney Sherrill has had a special season. After a challenging fall, she has grown into a great player and a great person. Very proud of all of them.”

Trio Of Seminoles Earn NFCA All-American Honors

Hanson enters the 2018 WCWS with a 28-5 record and a 1.05 ERA and 234 strikeouts in 193.0 innings. Hanson was named the ACC Pitcher of the Year and allowed opponents to hit just .141 against her on the season and allowed 36 runs. The Jupiter, Fla., native has recorded two no-hitters this season, including one against Jacksonville State on May 18 in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional.

Warren has continued to carry the Seminoles offensively and leads Florida State in five offensive categories, including batting average (.386), home runs (19) and RBI (66). She hit a home run in each of the three games of the NCAA Super Regional to send the Seminoles to the Women’s College World Series for the third time in the last five seasons. Warren earned ACC Player of the Year honors for the second straight year in 2018 and now ranks in a tie for ninth in NCAA history with 269 career RBI and 10th all-time with 81 home runs.

Sherrill has put together an outstanding freshman campaign that saw her earn ACC Freshman of the Year honors and also finish as a Top 10 Finalist for the NFCA National Freshman of the Year Award. The Moore, Okla., native leads the NCAA with 27 doubles and leads the ACC with 75 hits, while also tallying 10 home runs, 51 RBI and 43 runs scored. Sherrill was named the NFCA and USA Softball National Player of the Week on April 10 and twice received ACC Player of the Week honors in 2018.

The Seminoles begin the 2018 Women’s College World Series on Thursday, May 31 against No. 3 UCLA at 9:30 p.m. ET. The game will be broadcast on ESPN2 and links for live stats and FSU Softball Radio available on the softball schedule page of

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

2018 NFCA All-Americans
First Team
P, Megan Kleist, Oregon
P, Giselle Juarez, Arizona State
P, Kelly Barnhill, Florida
C, Gwen Svekis, Oregon
1B, Alyssa Palomino, Arizona
2B, Aubrey Leach, Tennessee
3B, Sydney Romero, Oklahoma
SS, Sis Bates, Washington
OF, Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF, Aaliyah Jordan, UCLA
OF, Jessie Scroggins, Baylor
UT-P, Rachel Garcia, UCLA
DP-UT/Non-P, Jocelyn Alo, Oklahoma
At-Large-SS, Holly Speers, Kent State
At-Large-P, Paige Parker, Oklahoma
At-Large-3B, Vanessa Shippy Oklahoma State
At-Large-P, Meghan Beaubien, Michigan
At-Large-C, Ivie Drake, Georgia State

Second Team
P, Kylee Hanson, Florida State
P, Brittany Gray, Georgia
P, Miranda Elish, Oregon
C, Kendyl Lindaman, Minnesota
1B, Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
2B, Kylee Perez, UCLA
3B, Nicole DeWitt, Florida
SS, Lilli Piper, Ohio State
OF, Kaylee Tow, Alabama
OF, Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF, Annie Murphy, Boston College
UT-P, Savannah Heebner, Houston
DP-UT/Non-P, Taylor Rowland, Long Beach State
At-Large-P, Allie Walljasper, LSU
At-Large-2B, Rachel Lewis, Northwestern
At-Large-3B, Jessie Warren, Florida State
At-Large-2B, Janae Jefferson, Texas
At-Large-P, Taran Alvelo, Washington

Third Team
P, Carley Hoover, LSU
P, Nicole Newman, Drake
P, Randi Rupp, Texas State
C, Libby Sugg, BYU
1B, Jessica Hartwell, Texas Tech
2B, Sydney Sherrill, Florida State
3B, Jena Cozza, UMass
SS, Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
OF, Kara Shutt, Elon
OF, Kate Gordon, James Madison
OF, Paige Murphy, Eastern Kentucky
UT-P, Odicci Alexander, James Madison
DP-UT/Non-P, Maddie Roth, Kennesaw State
At-Large-SS, Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
At-Large-2B, Faith Canfield, Michigan
At-Large-P, Gabbie Plain, Washington
At-Large-1B, Katie Prebble, Gardner-Webb
At-Large-3B, Jenna Lilley, Oregon

Related Articles