January 11, 2012 - by
U-23 National Camp

Jan. 11, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Florida State’s Toni Pressley and former Seminole standout Amanda DaCosta will head to Sarasota, Fla., to take part in a week long camp beginning Sunday, January 15 with the U.S. U-23 Women’s National Team.

Pressley and DaCosta, both former All-Americans at Florida State, were named to the 24-player roster by U.S. U-23 head coach Randy Waldrum.

Pressley recently concluded her senior season in Tallahassee helping the Seminoles to their first ACC Championship and a berth in the College Cup in 2011. The Melbourne, Fla., native finished her Florida State career tied for third in appearances with 96, while tallying 33 career points on 11 goals and 11 assists.

DaCosta, who earned her bachelor’s degree from FSU in December, made her WPS debut in 2011 with magicJack, the Boca Raton, Fla., based team. She recently signed a contract to play with the New Jersey based Sky Blue FC of the WPS in 2012. DaCosta was a two-time All-American at FSU and is the only four-time All-ACC honoree in school history.

Both players have spent time with the U-23 team in the past. DaCosta was invited to camp in Cleveland, Ohio in 2009 and then twice in 2010 with stops in Carson, Calif., and Sunrise, Fla. Pressley was invited to training camp in California twice in 2011 and was a member of the U-23 team that competed at the Three Nations Tournament in Sweden during the summer of 2011.

For further updates on the Florida State women’s soccer team this spring, stay tuned to www.seminoles.com.

U.S. U-23 Roster:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Adrianna Franch (Oklahoma State), Emily Kruger (California), Megan Kufeld (Washington)

DEFENDERS (10): Natasha Anasi (Duke), Lauren Barnes (Philadelphia Independence), Amber Brooks (North Carolina), Camille Levin (Stanford), Taylor Lytle (Texas Tech), Blake Miller (West Virginia); Toni Pressley (Florida State), Elli Reed (Boston Breakers), Sammy Scofield (Notre Dame), Kika Toulouse (Virginia)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Zakiya Bywaters (UCLA), Bianca D’Agostino (out of contract), Amanda DaCosta (Sky Blue FC), Jenna Richmond (UCLA), Elizabeth Tucker (Notre Dame), Erika Tymrak (Florida)

FORWARDS (5): Vicki DiMartino (Boston College), Morgan Marlborough (Nebraska), Danielle Foxhoven (Portland), Lindsay Taylor (Stanford), Laura Weinberg (Duke)


Related Articles