June 10, 2004 - by
van der Linden And Hunter Named Easton First Team All-Americans

June 10, 2004

Tallahassee, FL –
The Florida State pitching staff of Casey Hunter and Jessica van der Linden wrapped up the 2004 season with an ERA title in one hand and the second and third-best ERA’s in the nation individually in the other. Now the duo is the only pair of Easton All-American pitchers from the same team as van der Linden and Hunter were each named to Easton’s first team Thursday. Veronica Wootson was also honored as she was named a second team Easton All-American.

For Hunter and van der Linden, the Easton honors complete a dream season that saw the Seminole staff capture its second NCAA ERA title in the last four years. van der Linden became the most decorated female athlete in Florida State history and Hunter had the second-most wins ever in a single season by a Seminole pitcher. No two pitchers in Seminole history have ever combined for more wins that Hunter and van der Linden did in 2004 and both players were named NFCA All-Americans as well.

Wootson’s second team honor means she was the second-best second baseman in America in 2004 according to Easton. Not bad for a freshman. The ACC Rookie of the Year and 2004 second-team NFCA All-American had one of the best freshman seasons in Florida State history. She finished in the top 15 in the nation in runs per game (12th) and triples per game (14th). She set freshman records for runs, total bases and home runs. Wootson also almost set two single season records falling just three runs shy of tying that single season record and five bases shy of tying the total base record. Finished the year leading FSU in runs, hits, doubles, home runs and total bases.

The final award that is still remaining is the Honda-Broderick Cup and van der Linden is one of 12 female athletes competing for the honor. No Florida State athlete has ever won the cup and just two softball players in the 20-plus year history of the award have ever walked away with the honor. A press conference announcing the winner of The Honda-Broderick Cup will be held in New York City at the Low Library at Columbia University June 21, 2004 at 11:00 a.m.

Related Articles