May 18, 2021 - by

W. Golf’s Bond Named To Coach Of The Year Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Amy Bond, who guided the Florida State Women’s Golf Team to the team title at the 2021 NCAA Louisville Regional Championship, has been named to the watch list for the 2020-21 Division I Jackie Steinmann WGCA National Coach of the Year Presented by Golf Pride. The award will be announced after medal play at the upcoming NCAA Championship which begins May 21.

Bond, who is in her 11th season as the Seminoles’ head coach, has guided the Seminoles to three wins this season.  Florida State won the team championships at the Florida State Match Up, the Pinetree Collegiate and the Louisville Regional.  The Seminoles’ three wins this season gives her a school-record tying 14 wins as the head coach of the program in Tallahassee.

“To be named to the Watch List for the WGCA Coach of the Year is certainly an honor,” said Bond.  “All the thanks and credit belongs to the players and my two Assistant Coaches, Robert Duck and Matt Whall.  They have all done amazing things in a difficult year.  I am excited to stand beside them as we embark on this journey of trying to win a National Championship.”

Bond and the Seminoles begin play as the No. 9 seeded team in the NCAA Championship Finals on Friday at the Grayhawk Golf Course in Scottsdale, Ariz.  Florida State won the first regional championship in school history on May 12 as it outdistanced the field at the NCAA Louisville Regional.  The Seminoles are ranked second in the ACC with a 288.2 stroke average and finished as the runners-up at the ACC Championship.  Florida State is second in the ACC in wins this spring with three and were the only ACC team to win a regional championship in 2021.

Bond is one of four ACC coaches – Bond, Dan Brooks (Duke), Kim Lewellen (Wake Forest) and Carol Roberts (Virginia Tech) – who are on the list of 21 coaches listed as finalists for the award.

Recognized as the highest annual coaching honor in women’s collegiate golf, the Jackie Steinmann WGCA National Coach of the Year Presented by Golf Pride is awarded annually to the top coach in Division I, II III and NAIA women’s golf. The recipient is selected by a prestigious collection of women’s collegiate golf coaches who follow criteria that has been established to identify the top head coach for the past year.

Coach of the Year Watch List
Amy Bond, Florida State University
Kalen Anderson, University of South Carolina
Golda Borst, University of Kentucky
Dan Brooks, Duke University
Diana Cantu, University of Maryland
Jan Dowling, University of Michigan
Jay Goble, Baylor University
Kory Henkes, University of Mississippi
Lindsay Kuhle, University of Denver
Missy Farr-Kaye, Arizona State University
Kim Lewellen, Wake Forest University
Melissa Luellen, Auburn University
Derek Radley, University of Oregon
Carol Robertson, Virginia Tech
Greg Robertson, Oklahoma State University
Garrett Runion, Louisiana State University
Justin Silverstein, University of Southern California
Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll, Michigan State University
Lisa Strom, Kent State University
Anne Walker, Stanford University

Related Articles