July 17, 2008 - by
Weatherford Named To O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

July 17, 2008

Ft. Worth, TX – Florida State quarterback Drew Weatherford is entering his fourth season as the Seminoles’ starting QB and he will begin the 2008 campaign as one of 31 FBS quarterbacks on the O’Brien Quarterback Award watch list. The award honors nation’s best quarterback for the 2008 football season. Weatherford joins three other ACC quarterbacks on the distinguished list.

Watch list candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O’Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24. This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O'Brien Watch List:
Todd Boeckman		SR	Ohio State
Sam Bradford		SO	Oklahoma
Tom Brandstater		SR	Fresno State
Hunter Cantwell		SR	Louisville
Rudy Carpenter		SR	Arizona State
Jimmy Clausen		SO	Notre Dame
Chase Clement		SR	Rice
Chase Daniel		SR	Missouri
Sean Glennon		SR	Virginia Tech
Matt Grothe		JR	South Florida
Max Hall			JR	BYU
Cullen Harper		SR	Clemson
Graham Harrell		SR	Texas Tech
Chase Holbrook		SR	New Mexico State
Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada 	SR	Navy
Dan LeFevour		JR	Central Michigan
Jake Locker		JR	Washington
Colt McCoy			JR	Texas
Curtis Painter		SR	 Purdue
Todd Reesing		JR	Kansas
Mark Sanchez		JR	USC
Riley Skinner		JR	Wake Forest
Rusty Smith		JR	Florida Atlantic
Matthew Stafford		JR	Georgia
Tim Tebow			JR	Florida
Mike Teel			SR	Rutgers
Willie Tuitama		SR	Arizona
Drew Weatherford		SR	Florida State
Pat White			SR	West Virginia
Juice Williams		JR	Illinois
John Parker Wilson		SR	Alabama

Related Articles