November 10, 2000 - by
Weinke Named Semifinalist For Davey O’Brien Award

Nov. 10, 2000

Chris Weinke, Florida State’s record setting quarterback, is one of eight semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National quarterback Award as announced by the National College Football Awards Association.

Weinke, a senior from St. Paul, Minn., became Florida State’s all-time leading passer this season and has thrown for 9,162 yards entering Saturday’s game against Wake Forest. His 9,162 career passing yards ranks third in Atlantic Coast Conference history behind only Ben Bennett of Duke (9,614 career yards) and Jamie Barnette of NC State (9,461 yards). In addition, he has thrown for a school-record 71 career touchdowns and has thrown for 300 or more yards in 11 career games.

The winner of the 2000 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the 2000 Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 7 at 9 p.m. The winner and two runners-up will be honored at the 24th annual O’Brien Award Dinner on Feb. 19, 2001 at the Fort Worth Club.

The eight semifinalists are Weinke, Drew Brees (Senior, Purdue), Eric Crouch (Junior, Nebraska), Woodrow Dantzler (Junior, Clemson), Joey Harrington (Junior, Oregon), Josh Heupel (Senior, Oklahoma), Marques Tuiasosopo (Senior, Washington) and Michael Vick (Sophomore, Virginia Tech).

Related Articles