June 27, 2019 - by
Westrup To Enter FSU Athletics Hall Of Fame

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Caroline Westrup, the only four-time All-American golfer in Seminole history, will be inducted in the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, September 6, 2019. She will become just the ninth women’s golfer inducted with the six-member Hall of Fame class of 2019 which includes college baseball’s all-time winningest coach Mike Martin. The ceremony will take place the night before the Seminoles’ football game against ULM.

Martin, who retired after 40 years as the Seminole’s baseball coach following FSU’s College World Series appearance in 2019, is the winningest coach in any sport in NCAA history. He is one of two former FSU baseball players in the 2019 class joining All-American Dick Nichols who starred on the diamond from 1968-70. The class of 2019 also includes former Florida State quarterback Rick Stockstill who led the 1980 Seminoles to a 10-2 record and Associated Press No. 5 national ranking, four-time golf All-American Caroline Westrup, two-time NCAA champion and nine-time All-American from cross country and track, Susan Kuijken, and two-time All-Metro Conference basketball star, Mickey Dillard.

“It is a true honor to be inducted into the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame,” said Westrup from Bradenton, Fla., where she is a golf coach at IMG Academy. “It’s absolutely a dream come true. I can’t describe how happy and honored I am to be a part of this amazing group of Hall of Fame honorees in the history of Florida State Athletics. I am very honored because Florida State University means so much to me and has been such a monumental part of my life and my career as a golfer.”

Westrup established numerous milestones during her four-year career as a Seminole (2006-09). In addition to being the first four-time All-American in school history, she is the only four-time All-ACC selection in school history, won five individual tournament championships, was Florida State’s team captain a school-record three times and led the Seminoles to the NCAA Tournament a school record tying four times. Additionally, her single-round career-best score of 66 (which she shot five times) is only one stroke off of the school record. Westrup led the Seminoles to four team championships during her career.

Westrup competed in the NCAA Championship finals three times in her career as a Seminole – 2006 with her teammates and 2007 and 2008 as an individual. She finished in a career-best tied for 11th place at the 2007 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla. Her finish in the 2007 national championship ranks as the third highest finish for a Seminole individual in the NCAA Championship.

Westrup was celebrated by the Florida State University Department of Athletics as the torch on the Unconquered Statue in front of Doak Campbell Stadium was lit in her honor after she won the individual title at the Women’s World Championship in 2006.

The annual induction ceremony will begin at 5:30 p.m. at Florida State’s University Center Club the night before the Seminole’s home football game against ULM. A limited number of tickets are available to the public for $75.00 via email at fsuhalloffame@gmail.com or by calling the FSU Varsity Club at 850-644-1123.

Florida State Women’s Golfers In The FSU Athletics Hall of Fame
Jane Geddes, 1988
Lisa Young, 1990
Colleen Walker, 1991
Barbara Bunkowsky, 1994
Michele Guibault, 1998
Nadia St. Marie, 2008
Karen Stupples, 2013
Caroline Westrup, 2019

Related Articles