March 1, 2017 - by
White Named ACC Sixth Player of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Women’s Basketball junior center Chatrice White has been named the ACC Sixth Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches, announced on Wednesday morning by the conference.

The award gives Florida State three consecutive ACC Sixth Player of the Year honors after junior Shakayla Thomas won it in 2015 and 2016. FSU has won the award in four of the last five seasons as well, as Chasity Clayton took home the honor in 2013.

A native of Shelby, Neb., White transferred to FSU in the summer 2016 after being an impact player for two seasons at Illinois. Her sixth player of the year award adds to a collegiate resume that already includes Big Ten All-Freshman Team honors and an All-Big Ten Second Team award.

White willingly accepted her role off the bench and proved to be the conference’s most impactful bench player in the 2016-17 regular season. She leads the Seminoles with five double-doubles this year, and counting her total at Illinois she has 29 career double-doubles – a number that would tie for the active lead in the ACC.

White Named ACC Sixth Player of the Year

White has raised her game in ACC play, averaging 9.0 points, 5.9 rebounds and shooting 51 percent (50-of-98) from the floor. All five of her double-doubles have come in conference play, including two in two games against Miami. In FSU’s 80-71 win over No. 16 Miami on Feb. 6, White had a signature performance with 19 points and 14 boards.

Overall, White is in the Top 10 in the ACC in blocked shots per game (fourth – 1.4) and free throw percentage (10th – 79.3 percent). In ACC play only, she ranks ninth in the league in field goal percentage (51 percent), fourth in free throw percentage (89.4 percent) and second in blocked shots (1.9).

Blue Ribbon Panel

ACC Player of the Year: Alexis Peterson, Sr., G, Syracuse
ACC Freshman of the Year: Francesca Pan, Fr., G, Georgia Tech
ACC Coach of the Year: Wes Moore, NC State

Head Coaches Honors

Defensive Player of the Year: Brianna Turner, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Sixth Player of the Year: Chatrice White, Jr., C, Florida State

Related Articles