April 14, 2010 - by
Williams Named Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

April 14, 2010


Florida State junior Kim Williams was named the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

“It is extremely rare when you have a student-athlete with the talent and work ethic that Kim has,” head coach Bob Braman said. “She is very dedicated and constantly shows what a great all-around person she is.”

Williams headlines a list of 10 FSU student-athletes selected to the 2010 All-ACC Academic Men’s & Women’s Indoor Track & Field Teams.

Candidates for scholar-athlete of the year must have earned a 3.0 grade-point-average in each of the last two semesters, while maintaining a cumulative 3.0 GPA. Selections for the All-ACC Academic team must have earned a 3.0 GPA during the fall semester and for their careers, with selection based on athletic merit.

Williams, who was also selected the 2010 ACC Indoor Track Performer of the Year, won both the ACC and NCAA triple jump titles for the second consecutive year, recording marks of 46-8.25 and 45-9.25, respectively. The former mark set league and Rector Field House (Virginia Tech) records. The Kingston, Jamaica, native is a sport management major and was one of only three ACC performers to earn All-America status in more than one event at last month’s NCAA championship, as her 21-foot, 2.50-inch leap in the long jump was good for fifth place.

Joining Williams on the Women’s All-ACC Academic team were Jennifer Dunn, Amy Harris, Michelle Jenije and Amanda Winslow.

The Florida State men also raked in a number of honors on Wednesday as five men also were named to the All-ACC Academic team, including a pair of two-time honorees in Gonzalo Barroilhet and Matt Leeder. Joining Barroilhet and Leeder were Charles Clark, Michael Fout and Pablo Navarrete.

2010 Women’s All-ACC Academic Team
Kim Williams !@^ Jr. Sport Management Florida State
Amanda Winslow ^ Fr. Sport Management Florida State

2010 Men’s All-ACC Academic Team
Mike Fout So. Psychology Florida State
Matt Leeder @ ^ Jr. Psychology Florida State
Pablo Navarrete Jr. Management Florida State


! denotes 2010 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year

@ denotes two-time honoree

^ denotes 2010 All-ACC team member

Related Articles