September 25, 2002 - by
Women’s Basketball Places Two On ACC 50th Anniversary Team

Sept. 25, 2002

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State Women’s Basketball Team placed two honorees on the ACC 50th Anniversary team when it was announced on Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford. The 51-member team was voted on by a 27-member blue-ribbon committee that was selected by the league’s 50th Anniversary Committee.

Tia Paschal and Brooke Wyckoff both made All-Conference First Team during their career at Florida State. Paschal holds the school record for steals in a season (96) and career steals (269), while Wyckoff holds the season record for blocks (80).

North Carolina led all league schools with 11 members on the Golden Anniversary team while NC State was second with nine honorees. Virginia and Maryland each had eight players selected, followed by Duke (5), Clemson (4) and Florida State, Georgia Tech and Wake Forest with two.

Florida State’s 50th Anniversary Team Members

Tia Paschal, Florida State (1990-1993)

Three-year starter … averaged 19.4 points and 7.4 rebounds as a senior … earned first-team All-ACC, first-team All-ACC Tournament and second-team All-America honors … led FSU to two consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances … record-holder in four statistical categories … played professionally in Germany, Sweden, Spain and one season with the Charlotte Sting.

Brooke Wyckoff, Florida State (1998-2001)

Earned first-team All-ACC honors as a senior (All-tournament second team), third-team as a sophomore and junior and All-ACC freshman team … FSU’s blocked shots leader with 209 (6th all-time in ACC history) … ranks in FSU’s top-eight in four other categories … played three summers with USA Basketball … currently plays for the Orlando Miracle.

Related Articles