April 7, 2010 - by
Women’s Golf At Gator Invitational

April 7, 2010

No. 22 Florida State, which has wan back to back team championships for the first time since the 1981 season, looks to win its third consecutive team championship as it travels to play at the 38th Annual Lady Gator Invitational at the Mark Bostic Golf Course at the University of Florida April 10-11. The Seminoles begin play in the tournament having won the team championship at the Pinehurst Challenge (March 22-23) and the Bryan National Collegiate (April 2-4) in their last two events. Florida State has won the Lady Gator Invitational twice – 1980 and 1995 – and has had the individual champion wear the garnet and gold four times – most recently Kristin Tamulis in 2003.

No. 22 Florida State is joined by No. 10 Florida, No. 15 Michigan State, No. 20 Texas A&M, Central Florida, Chattanooga, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Georgetown, Georgia State, Nebraska, Notre Dame, South Florida and UNC Greensboro in the 2010 Lady Gator Invitational. The event will be played at the par 70, 6,002 yard Mark Bostic Course at the University of Florida. The course was originally designed in the 1920’s by renowned golf course architect Donald Ross and underwent a $4 million renovation in 2001. Auburn won the team championship and Duke’s Amanda Blumenhurst won the individual title in 2009.

Florida State has won two consecutive tournaments – the Pinehurst Challenge and the Bryan national Collegiate – for the first time since the 1980 fall season when they won the Dick McGuire Invitational and the Lady Gator Invitational in consecutive weeks on its way to five overall team championships including the 1981 A.I.A.W national championship. The Seminoles won three team championships in a span of four tournaments that season with championships at the McGuire and the Lady Gator followed by a second place finish at the Beacon Woods Invitational and another team championship at the South Florida Invitational.

Florida State defeated seven ranked teams in winning 2010 Bryan National Collegiate…the Seminoles defeated Wake Forest by one stroke to win the championship…junior Macarena Silva led the Seminoles in the individual standings with a tied for fifth place finish…Florida State’s team score of 873 was its third best of the year…the Seminoles had three golfers (Macarena Silva, T5; Lacey Agnew, T10; and Hannah Thomson, T10; finish in the top 10 of the individual standings for the second consecutive tournament…the Seminoles averaged 72.75 strokes per player for the entire tournament and are averaging 72.33 strokes per player per round in 24 countable rounds in their last two events…Florida State’s player are averaging 75.52 strokes per round this spring as compared to 78.45 strokes per round last season – an improvement of nearly three strokes per player per round.

Name              Tourn.  Rds   Par   -75   Low   Strks    Avg.
Macarena Silva    8       22    8     18    67    1,608    73.09
Lacey Agnew       8       22    9     10    65    1,634    74.27
Hannah Thomson    7       19    6     10    67    1,422    74.84
Jessica Negron    8       22    2     13    68    1,651    75.05
Maria Salinas     4       12    1     7     70    905      75.42
Mary Beth Ramsay  5       13    0     2     73    1,014    78.00
Jamie Kuhn        1       3     0     0     82    252      84.00

Related Articles