April 25, 2011 - by
Women’s Golf: NCAA Bound!

April 25, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Amy Bond, who is in her first season as Florida State’s head coach, has led the Seminole women’s golf team back to the NCAA Tournament and will lead her team into the NCAA East Regional Championship on the Champions Course at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla., May 5-7. The Seminoles were selected to participate in the 72-team tournament Monday marking the sixth consecutive year, 10th in the last 11 seasons and 18th in the last 21 seasons that the Seminoles will play in the NCAA Championship.

For Bond It marks the first time she has guided a team to the NCAA Championship in five seasons as a head coach.

“This is a great day for our program because it means that we are continuing to move forward,” said Bond. “It’s a good thing that our players are used to playing for Florida State in the month of May; this is something they look forward to and work hard for all season long. We are really excited about playing at LPGA International because we are familiar with the course, the grass and the weather. Our girls are looking forward to playing well and advancing to the championship finals at Texas A&M.”

A total of 72 teams and 18 individual will compete in three regionals for the right to advance to the national championship finals at the traditions Club in College Station, Tex., May 18-21. The national championships will feature 24 teams and six individuals. The top eight teams in each regional and the top two individuals not on the qualifying teams will advance to compete in the championship finals.

The Seminoles are ranked No. 29 in the latest national ranking by GolfStat and GolfWeek Magazine. The Seminoles have been ranked inside the nation’s top 30 teams in the nation throughout the fall and spring seasons. The Seminoles are one of five teams from the ACC ranked in the nation’s top 30 teams in the nation and finished in fifth place in the ACC Championship in April. The ACC is generally considered to be the toughest conference for women’s golf in the nation.

Florida State finished in a 10th place at the national championship finals in 2011 – the highest national finish in school history – after finishing in a tie for sixth place in the NCAA Central Regional championships last season.

Florida State has finished in the top three in the team standings in three of their six tournaments this spring. The Seminoles finished in second place at the Lady Gator Invitational, in third place at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic and in fourth place at the Kinderlou Forest Challenge. To illustrate the strength of the ACC, the Seminoles are one of eight schools in the league to have earned either a first or second place team finish this year.

Florida State is led by senior Maria Salinas (Lima, Peru) and junior Hannah Thomson (Perth, Australia) who have finished as the Seminoles top golfer in eight of the Seminoles’ nine tournaments this year. Salinas is ranked ninth in the ACC with a career low 74.21 stroke average and a best finish of second at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic. Thomson is ranked 12th in the ACC with a career low 75.00 stroke average. Thomson claimed individual medalist honors for the first time in her career with a victory at the Lady Gator Invitational. Both Salinas and Thomson will play in their third career NCAA regional championships next week.

Senior Macarena Silva (Santiago, Chile), who played in the Women’s World Championship tournament for her home country of Chile in 2010, will play in her fourth career NCAA regional championship.

“This is a very exciting way to continue my career as a Seminole,” said Silva. “We have worked very hard – harder than we have in past years – to get to this point. For my teammates I am happy, for myself I am glad that I can leave a winning legacy for the younger and incoming players for our program. We always play well in the NCAA’s and that is our goal again this year.”

NCAA EAST REGIONAL TEAMS: Florida State, Alabama, Purdue, California, Arizona State, Auburn, Michigan State, North Carolina, Vanderbilt, Florida, Colorado, TCU, Louisville, Ole Miss, Texas Tech, Florida International, Coastal Carolina, Augusta State, Yale, Kent State, Stetson, UNC Wilmington, Fairleigh Dickinson, Alabama State.

Related Articles