April 8, 2002 - by
Women’s Golf Team Earns Athletic Director’s Cup For Service At Golden Nole Awards Banquet

April 8, 2002

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The Eighth Annual Golden Nole Awards banquet, honoring all current Seminole athletes, was held Monday evening at the University Center on the Florida State campus. The event, which is planned each year by the Student-Athlete Advisory Council, is an opportunity for Florida State University and the Department of Athletics to salute the Seminole student-athletes who have proudly worn the Garnet and Gold.

Representatives from each of Florida State’s athletic teams were chosen by their respective coaches and honored as the Golden Nole recipient. The honoree was selected based on characteristics such as being a good leader, role model, scholar, athlete, champion, mentor, volunteer and All-American. This year’s Golden Nole Award winners are: Women’s Basketball – Lakesha Springle, Men’s Basketball – Delvon Arrington, Men’s Cross Country – Joep Tigchelaar, Women’s Cross Country – Vicky Gill, Football – Chris Hope, Soccer – Christy Peacock, Men’s Swimming and Diving – Justin Betts, Women’s Swimming and Diving – Emma Dutton, Volleyball – Norisha Campbell, Baseball – Ryan Barthelemy, Men’s Golf – Eric Beaty, Women’s Golf – Kristin Tamulis, Softball – Kimmy Carter and Brandi Stuart, Men’s Tennis – Romain Jurd, Women’s Tennis – Christina Denny, Men’s Track and Field – Shawn Brown and Michael Jennings, Women’s Track and Field – Karen Rademeyer and Kim Jones.

The evening is also designed to recognize the community service efforts of Florida State’s student-athletes. The Athletic Director’s Cup for Service was initiated by Athletic Director Dave Hart during the 1996-1997 academic year in order to promote community service participation among all teams. In addition, this annual award helps to recognize the thousands of hours of community service FSU student-athletes have completed. Seminole student-athletes logged more than 3,800 community service hours this year. This season, the women’s golf team donated the most community service honors, thus earning the prestigious award.
In addition, six student-athletes were honored as winners of the ACC Top Six for Service. They are Lisa Kirsch (Women’s Swimming), Lindsay Iding (Women’s Golf), Lauren Bradley (Women’s Basketball), Alison Mims (Soccer), Paul-Alvin Irons (Football) and Ryan Barthelemy (Baseball). This year’s Seminole Impact Winners are Kelley Henderson of Women’s Golf and Gary Visser of the Men’s Track and Field team.

During the program, the 2002 Don “Doc” Fauls Award was presented by the FSU Varsity Club. The Doc Fauls Award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the senior Seminole athlete who has overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University. It is named in honor of former longtime Head Athletic Trainer Don Fauls, who during his time at FSU (1954-86), had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. Baseball’s Blair Varnes was this year’s recipient.


1996-1997 Student-Athlete Advisory Council 1997-1998 Women's Basketball 1998-1999 Women's Basketball 1999-2000 Soccer 2000-2001 Volleyball 2001-2002 Women's Golf

Related Articles