January 31, 2020 - by
Women’s Team Stands Out Among USTFCCCA Honorees

USTFCCCA All-Academic Women Individuals / Teams
USTFCCCA All-Academic Men Individuals / Teams

TALLAHASSEE – The academic accolades continue to roll in for the 2019 Florida State cross country teams. Six women and two men were named to the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic teams.

And for the 10th consecutive year, the Noles women earned All-Academic team honors.

Coach Kelly Phillips’ squad, followed its ACC runner-up finish with a second consecutive NCAA South Region title and finished 12th at the NCAA Championships. They were among 237 NCAA Division I women’s teams to earn All-Academic honors.

The Noles’ boasted a 3.69 team grade point average (GPA); the highest in program history. That calculation , which covers the entire 43-athlete roster, tied for 19th-highest among the 237 school honored. Setting Phillips’ fifth team apart even more, FSU had the largest roster of the 23 schools with a 3.69 GPA or higher.

Of those 23 schools, Florida State was one of two to qualify for the 31-team NCAA Championships, and the highest finisher (12th). Harvard, which matched FSU’s GPA, placed 31st. Furthermore, FSU was one of only four Power 5 schools to earn All-Academic honors with a GPA of 3.69 or higher, trailing only South Carolina and Iowa State, and tied with Oregon State.

Teams must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0, including the most recent grading period, to qualify for All-Academic distinction.

Student-athletes must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and finish in the top 25 at the NCAA Regional Championships, or as an All-American at the NCAA Championships to earn Individual All-Academic honors.

Junior women’s standout Jodie Judd was named to the All-Academic team for the third time in her career; the only active Seminole with that distinction.

Women’s Team Stands Out Among USTFCCCA Honorees

Senior Steven Cross and redshirt sophomore Caleb Pottorff were repeat selections and among 117 NCAA Division I men selected for individual honors.

Junior Maudie Skyring and sophomore Elizabeth Funderburk earned All-Academic honors for the second consecutive season and were joined by first-time honorees Rebecca Clark, Addi Coggins and Lauren Ryan. They were among 166 NCAA Division I women to collect honors.

Only one team in the nation, NCAA champion Arkansas, had more honorees than the Seminole women, with seven. Florida State and ACC counterpart NC State were the only schools with six selections.

The USTFCCCA announced its All-Academic teams Thursday, shortly after the Atlantic Coast Conference released its All-Academic cross country teams. The Noles led the conference with 12 combined All-Academic selections, including a program-record and league-high eight women.

Related Articles