May 1, 2018 - by
Women’s Tennis Earns Two Seed into NCAA Championship Gainesville Regional

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – For the second consecutive season, the Florida State women’s tennis team has advanced to the NCAA Team Tennis Championship that begins May 11. The Seminoles were selected as a two seed in the Gainesville regional.

Florida State will take on third-seeded North Florida Friday, May 11 at 2 p.m. They will be followed up by the one seeded Florida Gators taking on fourth-seeded Youngstown State at 5 p.m. The two winners will face off on Saturday, May 12 at 4 p.m., with all three matches being held at the Ring Tennis Center.

The Seminoles earned the two seed in the Gainesville regional after finishing the season with an 18-8 record, good for the most regular season wins since 1999. The Seminoles were also 9-5 in the ACC, which surpassed the most ACC wins in school history by two. Florida State finished the season on a hot streak winning their last seven matches before losing to Virginia Tech in the ACC Tournament.

The Osprey’s of North Florida earned an automatic berth into the tournament field as winners of the ASUN Championship. The second seed in the conference tournament, UNF defeated Lipscomb and Stetson en route to the program’s fourth consecutive conference title.

Florida earned an at-large bid into the tournament with an 18-8 overall record. The Gators, who were the No. 2 seed in the SEC Tennis Championships, defeated LSU in the quarterfinals 4-2 and then Arkansas 4-2 in the semifinals before losing to No. 1 Vanderbilt 4-0 in the SEC finals.

Youngstown State won the Horizon League Championship as the second seed with a 4-0 victory over No. 1 seed UIC in the championship match. The team is 16-10 overall and are coming off their fifth straight Horizon League Championship.

The winner of the Gainesville regional will advance the round of 16 in Winston-Salem, N.C. for the remainder the NCAA Team Championship, held May 17-22 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex.

Related Articles