February 28, 2023 - by

Latson and Timpson Earn ACC Postseason Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State Women’s Basketball student-athletes Ta’Niya Latson and Makayla Timpson were each recognized heavily by the Atlantic Coast Conference on Tuesday, with both players earning several postseason awards following tremendous regular-season performances.

Latson has been named the ACC Rookie of the Year, selected to the All-ACC First Team and is a member of the ACC All-Freshman Team. Timpson won ACC Most Improved Player, earned a nod on the All-ACC Second Team and was chosen to the ACC All-Defensive Team.

Latson is the first Seminole to earn ACC Rookie of the Year honors. She is a front-runner for National Freshman of the Year as well, leading all freshmen across the country with 21.3 points per game. The other FSU freshman to earn rookie of the year honors was Chantelle Dishman, who was the Metro Conference’s Freshman of the Year in 1990.

The Miami, Fla., native broke the conference record with 10 ACC Rookie of the Week awards this season. She became the first ACC freshman to lead the conference in scoring during the regular season, and led the ACC from start to finish.

Latson owns an ACC-leading 18 20-point games as well as seven 30-point games this year. She held an incredible streak of 14 consecutive 20-point games, the second-longest ever in NCAA Men’s or Women’s Basketball behind 18 straight from Trae Young at Oklahoma.

Timpson is FSU’s first recipient of the ACC Most Improved Player award, more than doubling her scoring and rebounding production from a season ago. The Edison, Ga., native ranks 11th in the country with 67 blocked shots and is second in the league with 13 double-doubles – which is tied for the second most in a season at FSU.

Timpson is the eighth Seminole to earn ACC All-Defensive Team honors, leading the ACC for the majority of the season in blocked shots per game and currently sitting in second place. The other talented names that Timpson joins on FSU’s defensive list include current head coach Brooke Wyckoff, Alicia Gladden, Brittany Brown, Natasha Howard, Jacinta Monroe, Christian Hunnicutt and Morgan Jones.

Virginia Tech senior center Elizabeth Kitley was selected by the league’s coaches and Blue Ribbon Panel as the ACC Player of the Year. Duke senior guard Celeste Taylor is the league’s defensive player of the year, while NC State sophomore guard Saniya Rivers was chosen as the sixth player of the year.

2022-23 All-ACC Women’s Basketball Team
Player of the Year: Elizabeth Kitley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech
Defensive Player of the Year: Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke

Coach of the Year: Niele Ivey, Notre Dame
Rookie of the Year: Ta’Niya Latson, G, Florida State

Sixth Player of the Year: Saniya Rivers, So., G, NC State

Most Improved Player: Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State


All-ACC First Team

Elizabeth Kitley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech

Olivia Miles, So., G, Notre Dame

Ta’Niya Latson, Fr., G, Florida State

Hailey Van Lith, Jr., G, Louisville

Georgia Amoore, Jr., G, Virginia Tech

Dyaisha Fair, Sr., G, Syracuse

Deja Kelly, Jr., G, North Carolina

Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke

Sonia Citron, So., G, Notre Dame

Alyssa Ustby, Jr., G, North Carolina


All-ACC Second Team

Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State

Jewel Spear, Jr., G, Wake Forest

Diamond Johnson, So., G, NC State

Haley Cavinder, Sr., G, Miami

Destiny Harden, Gr., F, Miami

Amari Robinson, Sr., F, Clemson

Camryn Taylor, Jr., G, Virginia

Maddy Westbeld, Jr., F, Notre Dame

Kennedy Todd-Williams, Jr., G, North Carolina

Taylor Soule, Gr., F, Virginia Tech

All-Defensive Team

Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke

Mykasa Robinson, Gr., G, Louisville

Elizabeth Kitley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech

Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State

Dyaisha Fair, Sr., G, Syracuse


All-Freshman Team

Ta’Niya Latson, G, Florida State

Taina Mair, G, Boston College

Tonie Morgan, G, Georgia Tech

Ruby Whitehorn, G, Clemson

KK Bransford, G, Notre Dame

Related Articles