April 15, 2013 - by
Moreau, Portuondo And Snaer Honored At Banquet

April 15, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Two-time All-ACC selection Michael Snaer earned a team-high four awards including the Charlie Ward Most Outstanding Defensive Player and Bob Sura Most Outstanding Offensive Player awards as Head Coach Leonard Hamilton and his staff celebrated the 2012-13 Seminoles at the annual Men’s Basketball Honors Banquet at the Tom and Ginny Futch Ballroom at the University Center Club. The Seminoles’ coaching staff handed out awards to the teams’ top performers and honored the careers of Sanar along with fellow seniors Joey Moreau and Ralfi Portuondo.

Junior Okaro White, who begins his senior season of 2013-14 as an All-American candidate earned three awards along with freshmen classmates Devon Bookert and Boris Bojanovsky.

Snaer averaged a team-leading and career-high 14.8 points, a team leading and career-high 2.5 assists per game and a team leading 1.0 steals in leading the Seminoles to the postseason for the fourth time in his career. In addition to earning the awards as Florida State’s top offensive and defensive player, Snaer also shared the award for the best free throw percentage with White and Booker and shared the Otto Petty Award for the most assists with Devon Bookert.

White averaged a career high and team-leading 5.9 rebounds as a junior and was presented with the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award. He finished the season ranked first on the team and in the top 20 of the ACC statistics with his career high rebound average. White also received the Most Improved Student Athlete Award and shared two awards for best free throw percentage and best field goal percentage.

Bookert was honored with the award for the Seminole who earned the best 3-point field goal percentage award as he shot a team high of .525 from the 3-pint line. Bojanovsky was presented with two awards: The Sixth Man Award and the First Year Academic Achievement Award.

Freshman Michael Ojo earned the Unsung Hero Award while junior Kiel Turpin shared the award as the Seminoles’ top field goal percentage shooter with White and Bojanovsky.

The Seminoles made their eighth consecutive postseason appearance, won the championship of the prestigious Coaches vs. Cancer Classic and finished with at least nine ACC wins for the school record fifth consecutive season. The Seminoles advanced to the quarterfinals of the ACC Tournament for the seventh consecutive season — the longest ongoing streak among the current 12 teams in the ACC. The Seminoles are the third winningest team in the ACC since the start of the 2005-06 season.

Award                                            Winner
First Year Academic Achievement Award            Boris Bojanovsky
Most Improved Student Athlete Award              Okaro White
Best Field Goal Percentage                       Boris Bojanovsky, Kiel Turpin,
                                                 Okaro White
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award         Devon Bookert
Best Free Throw Percentage Award                 Devon Bookert, Michael Snaer,
                                                 Okaro White
Otto Petty Most Assists Award                    Devon Bookert, Michael Snaer
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award         Okaro White
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player        Michael Snaer
Bob Sura Most Outstanding Offensive Player       Michael Snaer
Unsung Hero Award                                Michael Ojo
Sixth Man Award                                  Boris Bojanovsky

Related Articles